Liqui-Tite Conduit Code Q? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2009, 02:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Liqui-Tite Conduit Code Q?


I installed a water feature at the rear corner of my yard and needed to get some power out there. I tapped into the "load" side of a GFI outlet on the shed and ran about 50' of 3/4 Liqui-Tite conduit to the location. I think this is a brand name but it's basically metal BX with a plastic coating that makes it water tight, and the connectors have O-ring seals. Same stuff they use for whips on a/c units, pool filters, etc.

At any rate, I have the conduit zip-tied to a chain link fence about 6" from ground level. My understanding is that you can use this stuff anywhere you can use conduit as long as it's visible? It terminates to an outlet box mounted to a 4x4 post about 6" from the fence. Is this installation up to code?

Anyway, almost a moot point because I'm tired of looking at this setup and thinking of renting a trencher to bury the line. Anyone know if this conduit is rated for direct burial or do I need to go to rigid PVC?

Advertisement

Burbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 05:57 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richfield, MN
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Liqui-Tite Conduit Code Q?


Yes you can if it is marked on the conduit, it should have "direct burial" or "underground." What you have now sound like its ok but probably looks pretty bad.


FYI Liguidtight and BX are different.

Advertisement

Sliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 06:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Liqui-Tite Conduit Code Q?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sliver View Post
Yes you can if it is marked on the conduit, it should have "direct burial" or "underground." What you have now sound like its ok but probably looks pretty bad.


FYI Liguidtight and BX are different.

Thanks and not sure how it's marked. I'll probably just replace with 3/4" PVC conduit, I can re-use the #10 THHN that's in there now. Yeah, it looks kinda cheesy, the wife complianed about it the afternoon I installed it....

I'm installing a backyard post light and renting a trencher for that job, so thought I would do the trench for this and fix it up right while I had the machine. I don't like to do electric that's not up to code, the code is there to protect us, but I don't have to tell you that....

Yes, BX and Liquidtite are different, I was just using that as a reference to try and describe it.
Burbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 07:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 525
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Liqui-Tite Conduit Code Q?


You ran 50 FEET of liquitight? Wow, That stuff is expensive. I have seen it used on the ends of EMT conduit runs, maybe the last three feet, where it was connecting to a compressor or some other piece of equipment where it would be a pain to bend the EMT. I rarely see straight runs of it, and have never seen more than five feet of it in one piece.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 11:57 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Liqui-Tite Conduit Code Q?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigplanz View Post
You ran 50 FEET of liquitight? Wow, That stuff is expensive. I have seen it used on the ends of EMT conduit runs, maybe the last three feet, where it was connecting to a compressor or some other piece of equipment where it would be a pain to bend the EMT. I rarely see straight runs of it, and have never seen more than five feet of it in one piece.
Agree. Too expensive to use it this way. Ty Raps are not listed as a suitable strap either. It cannot be buried. Use conduit
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 03:14 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Liqui-Tite Conduit Code Q?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigplanz View Post
I have seen it used on the ends of EMT conduit runs, maybe the last three feet, where it was connecting to a compressor or some other piece of equipment where it would be a pain to bend the EMT.
It also aides in isolating equipment vibrations from the conduit run.
Tuckahoe Sparkplug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 08:15 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Liqui-Tite Conduit Code Q?


Thanks guys!
Burbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 08:51 PM   #8
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 525
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Liqui-Tite Conduit Code Q?


While walking this evening, I spotted this example of liqui-tite, both as it is typically used and as it shouldn't be used. I don't know if the liqui-tite strung like a garden hose across the side of the building is code compliant but it sure looks like s**t.
Attached Thumbnails
Liqui-Tite Conduit Code Q?-539992930_uvuma-m.jpg   Liqui-Tite Conduit Code Q?-539992849_kvzvh-m.jpg  

Advertisement

Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sharing conduit (respect to code) GoyimPersuasion Electrical 22 02-24-2009 12:32 AM
ground wire in rigid conduit measure thrice Electrical 3 02-03-2009 06:25 AM
Distance between Heater & Combustibles DIY_JC Building & Construction 7 01-20-2009 08:52 AM
Conduit, above ground, code question davewest Electrical 6 02-27-2008 04:55 PM
1950's Roof Framing Strength KempLN Building & Construction 21 06-17-2006 11:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts