Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2010, 12:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia Pa
Posts: 190
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Line Tester? NOT for use with outlet!


I have 5 wires in a wall that I am trying to move. I have positivetly identified 3 of the lines. The other two lines I am unsure of but have a SUSPESION. I have a light in the kitchen that does NOT have a wall switch. (has chain like in a ceiling fan) I want to shut off the breaker to THAT light and then test the line I suspect goes to that light. ( I KNOW THIS IS GOING TO SOUND REALLY REALLY REALLY CORNY!) I watched the show Holmes on Holmes and he always has one in his pocket. Just holds it up the wires he finds in the wall and it lights if it is live. I "WANT" to say it began with a K. Klein, Kirby, but I could be wrong.

Thanks AGAIN

Evil Scotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 01:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Line Tester? NOT for use with outlet!


Sounds like you are talking a voltage detector. These are commonly available for a few dollars at home depot, lowes, menards, etc. They may even be available at walmart. Anyone who does electric work should have one.

try:

http://www.lowes.com/pd_169-72068-GT...ntity_sold%7C1


Last edited by oberkc; 11-10-2010 at 01:17 PM.
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 01:18 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,561
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Line Tester? NOT for use with outlet!


Commonly called a non contact voltage detector.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 01:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia Pa
Posts: 190
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Line Tester? NOT for use with outlet!


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Commonly called a non contact voltage detector.
I found it THANK YOU

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053
Evil Scotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 01:25 PM   #5
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Line Tester? NOT for use with outlet!


You can also use a standard volt meter just need to be careful you don't accidentally cross the wires or what not. but non contact tester is a good tool to have as well. I like to use it, then if it's negative, use the volt meter. just to be safe. There's always the two finger test too. j/k
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 01:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia Pa
Posts: 190
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Line Tester? NOT for use with outlet!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
You can also use a standard volt meter just need to be careful you don't accidentally cross the wires or what not. but non contact tester is a good tool to have as well. I like to use it, then if it's negative, use the volt meter. just to be safe. There's always the two finger test too. j/k
Thanks Two finger test is exactly what I don't want to do! LOL Not AFRAID persay of electricity, but lets just say it has my UTMOST RESPECT! Got bite once, don't want it to happen again!
Evil Scotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 07:13 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Western Maine
Posts: 201
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Line Tester? NOT for use with outlet!


... if you're just REPLACING the light, ie the old one still works... then kill circuits one at a time until it gets dark :D

emolatur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 03:36 PM
Do I need to prime my oil feed line? 1parkpointer HVAC 3 10-22-2009 06:52 PM
Installing a new in-line electrical outlet Nedly83 Electrical 5 09-01-2009 07:44 AM
Outlet wiring dilemma Mac McCloskey Electrical 8 08-17-2009 06:38 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 03:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.