Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2011, 05:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

In-line splice , how to?


I have an actuator that I want to install in my wall behind the sheetrock to conceal a small gun safe. The actuator runs off of a 12v dc adapter which i want to somehow hardwire into the existing romex wire that is there. I want all the connections to also be concealed behind the sheetrock. How would I properly connect this actuator to the existing wiring?

mike12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 06:43 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

In-line splice , how to?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mike12345 View Post
I have an actuator that I want to install in my wall behind the sheetrock to conceal a small gun safe. The actuator runs off of a 12v dc adapter which i want to somehow hardwire into the existing romex wire that is there. I want all the connections to also be concealed behind the sheetrock. How would I properly connect this actuator to the existing wiring?
So you want the 12V adapter to be inside the wall, powered by the existing romex that happens to be running through the area? The only legit way to do this is to install a receptacle in a box inside the wall, with a removable access panel in the drywall so you can get to the receptacle and adapter. This may be a challenging installation, especially if you want to do it without removing much drywall. Is there an attic above this? It would probably be easier to install a receptacle in the attic to plug the 12V adapter into, then run the 12V wire down into the wall.

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 07:25 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,113
Rewards Points: 3,020
Blog Entries: 4
Default

In-line splice , how to?


The only way to have the connections concealed behind drywall is to have a removable access panel. The panel can screwed on or look like anything else, but it has to be removable.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 07:30 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

In-line splice , how to?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
So you want the 12V adapter to be inside the wall, powered by the existing romex that happens to be running through the area? The only legit way to do this is to install a receptacle in a box inside the wall, with a removable access panel in the drywall so you can get to the receptacle and adapter. This may be a challenging installation, especially if you want to do it without removing much drywall. Is there an attic above this? It would probably be easier to install a receptacle in the attic to plug the 12V adapter into, then run the 12V wire down into the wall.

Hmm I guess I would have to install te receptacle because there is no attic. But I would have to eliminate access to the wiring in order to keep it concealed
mike12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 07:36 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,113
Rewards Points: 3,020
Blog Entries: 4
Default

In-line splice , how to?


It must be accessible. Removing the safe to access it might be considered accessible. What exactly are you trying to accomplish?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 06:53 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

In-line splice , how to?


Hey guys just thought you might want to take a look at the finished product. It ended up working out pretty good.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/nhprnn
mike12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 07:31 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

In-line splice , how to?


A 90MB movie?! How about a couple of simple photos instead?

__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water line to fridge, actually -in- 'subflooring', not under?? Anonyone Plumbing 5 10-16-2010 07:31 PM
tapping water line for new line KarlJay Plumbing 5 07-28-2010 10:30 AM
Capacity loss with line size Einride HVAC 1 06-29-2009 04:10 PM
Add natural gas line Tukeeman Plumbing 11 12-01-2008 08:53 AM
Condensate Line schott HVAC 17 06-02-2008 04:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.