In-line Splice , How To? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2011, 05:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

In-line splice , how to?


I have an actuator that I want to install in my wall behind the sheetrock to conceal a small gun safe. The actuator runs off of a 12v dc adapter which i want to somehow hardwire into the existing romex wire that is there. I want all the connections to also be concealed behind the sheetrock. How would I properly connect this actuator to the existing wiring?

Advertisement

mike12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 06:43 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,946
Rewards Points: 2,792
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by mike12345 View Post
I have an actuator that I want to install in my wall behind the sheetrock to conceal a small gun safe. The actuator runs off of a 12v dc adapter which i want to somehow hardwire into the existing romex wire that is there. I want all the connections to also be concealed behind the sheetrock. How would I properly connect this actuator to the existing wiring?
So you want the 12V adapter to be inside the wall, powered by the existing romex that happens to be running through the area? The only legit way to do this is to install a receptacle in a box inside the wall, with a removable access panel in the drywall so you can get to the receptacle and adapter. This may be a challenging installation, especially if you want to do it without removing much drywall. Is there an attic above this? It would probably be easier to install a receptacle in the attic to plug the 12V adapter into, then run the 12V wire down into the wall.

Advertisement

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 07:25 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 12,116
Rewards Points: 11,024
Blog Entries: 11
Default


The only way to have the connections concealed behind drywall is to have a removable access panel. The panel can screwed on or look like anything else, but it has to be removable.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 07:30 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
So you want the 12V adapter to be inside the wall, powered by the existing romex that happens to be running through the area? The only legit way to do this is to install a receptacle in a box inside the wall, with a removable access panel in the drywall so you can get to the receptacle and adapter. This may be a challenging installation, especially if you want to do it without removing much drywall. Is there an attic above this? It would probably be easier to install a receptacle in the attic to plug the 12V adapter into, then run the 12V wire down into the wall.

Hmm I guess I would have to install te receptacle because there is no attic. But I would have to eliminate access to the wiring in order to keep it concealed
mike12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 07:36 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 12,116
Rewards Points: 11,024
Blog Entries: 11
Default


It must be accessible. Removing the safe to access it might be considered accessible. What exactly are you trying to accomplish?
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 06:53 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Hey guys just thought you might want to take a look at the finished product. It ended up working out pretty good.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/nhprnn
mike12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 07:31 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default


A 90MB movie?! How about a couple of simple photos instead?

Advertisement

__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water line to fridge, actually -in- 'subflooring', not under?? Anonyone Plumbing 5 10-16-2010 07:31 PM
tapping water line for new line KarlJay Plumbing 5 07-28-2010 10:30 AM
Capacity loss with line size Einride HVAC 1 06-29-2009 04:10 PM
Add natural gas line Tukeeman Plumbing 11 12-01-2008 08:53 AM
Condensate Line schott HVAC 17 06-02-2008 04:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1