Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2012, 11:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

line and phase voltage


sir
i have seen on this site------------------------------------------------------------120/240 for houses: 120 is line to ground, 240 is line to line

so got the point from this point that we have three phase connection so
120 is phase voltage and 240 is line voltage

but line voltage is=squareroot of 3 *phase voltage and (240 is not equal to sqroot of 3*120)
please send the answer on --------- as soon as possible


Last edited by Gary in WA; 05-04-2012 at 12:08 AM. Reason: Removed link as per forum rules.
ashish walia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 12:17 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 75
Default

line and phase voltage


WOW. Thats quite a theory.

The first sentence is OK.

The rest is not.

Didn't come from here.

jammin06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 01:28 AM   #3
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,526
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

line and phase voltage


Quote:
Originally Posted by ashish walia View Post
sir
i have seen on this site------------------------------------------------------------120/240 for houses: 120 is line to ground, 240 is line to line

so got the point from this point that we have three phase connection so
120 is phase voltage and 240 is line voltage

but line voltage is=squareroot of 3 *phase voltage and (240 is not equal to sqroot of 3*120)
please send the answer on --------- as soon as possible
Residential 240 is not 3 phase...it's single phase.....with a center tap neutral reference.

This picture might help illustrate how it works.

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 05:52 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

line and phase voltage


Quote:
Originally Posted by ashish walia View Post
please send the answer on --------- as soon as possible
Ummmmmm......NOPE!

A) I don't answer forum posts privately. That is completely counter to what these forums are all about.

B) I don't do home work for other people.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (05-04-2012), user1007 (05-04-2012)
Old 05-04-2012, 06:44 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

line and phase voltage


Quote:
Originally Posted by ashish walia View Post
sir
i have seen (snip) 120/240 for houses: 120 is line to ground, 240 is line to line

so got the point from this point that we have three phase connection so
120 is phase voltage and 240 is line voltage

but line voltage is=squareroot of 3 *phase voltage and (240 is not equal to sqroot of 3*120)
(snip)
If you indeed had two legs of a symmetric neutral (wye; star; etoile) 3 phase system as your service then hot to hot would measure about 208 volts.

Once in awhile, residences in (upper floors of?) a commercial building or in a primarily commercial district may have 120/208 volt service taken from 3 phase pole transformers. In general, 120/240 rated and 240 volt only rated equipment may not be connected to 120/208 volt systems and vice versa. Some equipment is rated for both voltages.

A 120/240 volt 3 phase system (it's always 3 phase delta) provides 120/240 volt single phase power per the diagram above and a third hot wire is for 240 volt only 3 phase equipment such as machinery,

Even in a three phase system of any kind, if you take power from any two terminals (hot and hot, or hot and neutral) you will have a single phase source.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-04-2012 at 06:59 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
user1007 (05-04-2012)
Old 05-04-2012, 07:53 AM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

line and phase voltage


Quote:
Originally Posted by ashish walia View Post
sir
i have seen on this site------------------------------------------------------------120/240 for houses: 120 is line to ground, 240 is line to line

so got the point from this point that we have three phase connection so
120 is phase voltage and 240 is line voltage

but line voltage is=squareroot of 3 *phase voltage and (240 is not equal to sqroot of 3*120)
please send the answer on --------- as soon as possible
Why do you ask and where do you live?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 07:56 AM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

line and phase voltage


.....
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:26 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,616
Rewards Points: 2,192
Default

line and phase voltage


Quote:
Originally Posted by ashish walia View Post
sir
i have seen on this site------------------------------------------------------------120/240 for houses: 120 is line to ground, 240 is line to line

so got the point from this point that we have three phase connection so
120 is phase voltage and 240 is line voltage

but line voltage is=squareroot of 3 *phase voltage and (240 is not equal to sqroot of 3*120)
please send the answer on --------- as soon as possible

If your hot to neutral is measured at 120v !
Then the voltage across two hots depends on two things !
If it originates from a split supply then it will be 240v !
But if it is a measur ment from two phases,
of a three phase supply,
then it will not be 240v! but more like 220v,
Because the phase difference in a three phase system
would be only 120 degrees,
Where as in a split supply it would be 180 degrees.

If you are tring to understand electrical systems,
Then you must understand the difference between
split systems and three phase systems !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:28 PM   #9
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

line and phase voltage


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
.....
My take too.
Opening with "sir" also points to this tread being started in a foreign country
Let's see how long before ashish has a follow-up post
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
user1007 (05-04-2012)
Old 05-04-2012, 08:32 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

line and phase voltage


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Let's see how long before ashish has a follow-up post
I've got a fiver that says she never returns.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:51 PM   #11
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,635
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

line and phase voltage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I've got a fiver that says she never returns.
I will take the bet if you tell me if we are playing $5 with US dollars, Irish pound notes, or Euros. I need 3:1 at least though to bank the bet.

We in the US love our electrical system. The fact that a mean or wayward squirrel can take out entire sections of the country does not 1-2 or even 3 phase us at all?

My fave 3-phase equipment is mass transportation and I love the pigeons of Philadelphia most with no claws and just balancing on nubs.

I grew up with 3-phase when it supposedly kept giant saws and things working longer.

When the OP responds again I am going to use the money I won from you, at Target or something, to buy me a 3-phase meat grinder.

user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to user1007 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (05-04-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 220v Electronics on 120V Outlet? hellfire Electrical 42 01-14-2014 08:59 PM
making a 3phase house a single AzApache Electrical 7 12-09-2011 05:11 PM
confused about,208/240 lionking Electrical 10 10-26-2010 09:54 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
3 phase crazydog Electrical 10 08-20-2007 10:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.