Lights And Outlets Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2009, 08:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lights and Outlets Wiring


I am building brick columns for my fence around my pool. I want to put lights on each column and outlets on some of the columns.

How do I run a circuit to keep the outlets hot all the time, but control the lights with one switch?

Advertisement

toolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 09:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Lights and Outlets Wiring


You need to run 2 seperate circuits because the receps will have top be gfci prootected and can't share a neutral with the lights.



Power
:
:
:.....switch...........light..............light... ....light.........light
:
:..........GFCI recep.......recep..................recep

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 09:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lights and Outlets Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
You need to run 2 seperate circuits because the receps will have top be gfci prootected and can't share a neutral with the lights.



Power
:
:
:.....switch...........light..............light... ....light.........light
:
:..........GFCI recep.......recep..................recep

Wow! Thanks for the quick reply. I was hoping I could do this without running two separate wires, but two I will do.

Thanks....
toolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 09:26 PM   #4
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Lights and Outlets Wiring


You can do it with one circuit. You should GFCI protect the lights as well as the receptacles. You will need 4 wires: a constant hot for the recepts, a switched hot for the lights, a neutral and ground shared between them. You could use a GFCI breaker or faceless GFCI to protect the whole circuit, that way you won't have a shared neutral problem down stream.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 09:35 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Lights and Outlets Wiring


How close are the columns to the pool?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 09:52 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Lights and Outlets Wiring


Possibly you know this but there are requirements for outlets & lights. Lights also can't overhang the pool by a certain distance

Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 05-17-2009 at 10:40 PM. Reason: old graphic removed
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 10:00 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Lights and Outlets Wiring


Scuba, that may be an outdated graphic from Mike Holt. I have never heard of this exception.

The ONLY receptacle allowed within 5'-10' of the pool is a pump or filter receptacle. ALL others must be at least 10' away.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 10:38 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Lights and Outlets Wiring


Yes, that appears to be an old pic
It's what my Inspector checked on when I added on to my pool cabana. He wanted an outlet added - as there isn't one in the pool area, only in the cabana
Good idea to read it all over for 2008
680.8 lists the clearances for pools ( I think ?)
680.22 lists other requirements
680.22 (3) 2008 states one gen purpose required between 6' & 20' from pool ??

I was thinking over 10' from the edge of the pool

So things have changed or am I missing again?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 10:43 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lights and Outlets Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Scuba, that may be an outdated graphic from Mike Holt. I have never heard of this exception.

The ONLY receptacle allowed within 5'-10' of the pool is a pump or filter receptacle. ALL others must be at least 10' away.
Thanks guys for your info.

The lights/outlets will be in compliance either way. Each column is 10-12 feet away from the water. Also it will be protected by a GFCI breaker at the sub panel.

OK now, to the poster who said I could use one circuit. You mean like 14/3 w/grd?

The lights I have picked out are the new LED lights for outside "lanterns" so amperage will not be a concern.

Last edited by toolguy; 05-17-2009 at 10:47 PM.
toolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 10:48 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Lights and Outlets Wiring


Yeah, you can use a 14/3 (12/3, or conduit) and have one hot wire switched for the lights.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 01:54 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Lights and Outlets Wiring


True, if the lights and receps are on the gfci a 3 wire circuit will work. This might make sense depending on the layout.


Black = hot
Red = switched
White = neutral.



Power source
:
:2wire
:
GFCI
:
:
:2 wire
:
:
switch
:
:
:3 wire
:
:
:..........recep (blk/wht)........light(red/wht)..........recep........light....
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 08:57 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lights and Outlets Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
True, if the lights and receps are on the gfci a 3 wire circuit will work. This might make sense depending on the layout.


Black = hot
Red = switched
White = neutral.



Power source
:
:2wire
:
GFCI
:
:
:2 wire
:
:
switch
:
:
:3 wire
:
:
:..........recep (blk/wht)........light(red/wht)..........recep........light....
Thanks guys. All of you have been great and I intended to do some trial and error to get the rest done, but you guys have been so cooperative, I will explain further what I would like to do.

I am running the power for both lights and recepticals from a GFCI breaker in a "logic box" that has a sub panel. The "logic box" allows you to push a button on the "menu" board to turn on the pump, underwater pool light, salt generator, pool heater, etc. separately. It also has a "remote control" option which I intend to use without having to go to the "logic box" each time I want to operate a device.

Naturally, I don't want to kill the power on the recepticals by pushing the column lights button to turn them off. Will I have a problem using this setup keeping the outlets "hot" all the time? Hope I'm not asking too much.

Advertisement

toolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Outlets Then Switch Then Lights heydj Electrical 9 05-07-2009 09:09 PM
Wiring Problems sunici Electrical 18 04-26-2009 09:27 PM
Dead Outlets & Lights JnWaco Electrical 14 03-03-2009 12:08 PM
Correcting 40+ years of screwy wiring Badfish740 Electrical 3 12-28-2008 10:19 PM
Wiring for external lights and outlets MikeinBurien Electrical 4 12-05-2005 01:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts