Lights/outlets Stopped Working - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2013, 10:37 PM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,961
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

Lights/outlets stopped working


Quote:
Originally Posted by kh541 View Post
I've reset all the breakers, and have mapped almost all of them to their circuits. There are 3 breakers whose circuit I can't locate, including the circuit that contains the lights/outlets that have no power. Based on the layout of the breakers and the circuits, I'm pretty sure I know which breaker leads to the circuit in question.

Is testing this breaker a good next step in troubleshooting the problem? I see numerous online instructions for testing a breaker. Your thoughts?

Thanks!
If you have traced everything back as far as you can, then check the breaker and eliminate that as a problem.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:52 PM   #17
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Lights/outlets stopped working


Consider checking the wall switch, if you haven't eliminated that yet as the potential problem, again, check all the connections, check any wires in the box with wire nuts to make sure they are secure and tight.
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:18 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lights/outlets stopped working


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
If you have traced everything back as far as you can, then check the breaker and eliminate that as a problem.
Thanks. Now that the weekend is here, I'm working on this again. I've re-checked all the connections in the switches and outlets, and I've also swapped out the breaker with one that is working fine on a different circuit. Still no power to the circuit.

One question though. From having removed my ceiling fan, I have the hot, neutral, and ground wires sticking out of the hole in my ceiling. Do I need to hook the ceiling fan back up in order to continue troubleshooting? Or is it OK to keep trouble shooting with the wires not hooked up? (Yes, I know not to mess with them when the power is on. They're up high and out of the way.) I'm curious to know if having nothing hooked up to the wires will prevent the other points on the circuit from working.

I've also found that we have one more outlet that may be on this circuit. It's buried behind some bookshelves that we'll have to move.
kh541 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:39 PM   #19
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Lights/outlets stopped working


As long as there are no wires junctioned in the ceiling fan box, having the ceiling fan dismounted will not affect anything.
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:48 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lights/outlets stopped working


Ok. Thanks. I'll get to work on the bookshelves.
kh541 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:50 PM   #21
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Lights/outlets stopped working


If your to the point where you have pretty muched ruled out the outlets, switches, breakers ect...my next suspicion would possibly be squirrel or something chewing through a wire in the attic or crawl space. I dont know the style of your home (weird if I did....lol) meaning, that is there attic space above the room in question? Have you had any problems or noticed critters in the attic? Just something to consider?
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:02 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lights/outlets stopped working


You don't know my house layout??? I guess you're not quite as much of a rock star as I thought. Ha! We've got a 2 story house, and the room in question is on the second floor. I was up in the attic today tracing wires and didn't see any evidence of critters.
kh541 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:10 PM   #23
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Lights/outlets stopped working


[QUOTE=kh541;1102830]You don't know my house layout??? I guess you're not quite as much of a rock star as I thought. QUOTE]


I probably wouldn't last 30 seconds on "killer karaoke" lol
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:14 PM   #24
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Lights/outlets stopped working


Do you have power into your light switch, meaning if you pull the switch out, with a tester, determine if any wires are hot?
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:47 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lights/outlets stopped working


I tested one of the outlets and also the wires for the ceiling fan with my neon circuit tester. No power. Or are you meaning with a non-contact voltage tester?
kh541 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:57 PM   #26
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Lights/outlets stopped working


Yes, that would be a start, just to identify if power is present. Just keep in mind, as difficult as it is for you to trouble shoot this while you are there, its 100x's more difficult for us, not being able to see or guess how your rooms are wired or joined together. So, if we ask something that you may have already done, its only because (me personally) trying to image everything....so my apologies in advance.
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:58 PM   #27
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Lights/outlets stopped working


Have you noticed any other outlets in any other rooms that have stopped functioning?
fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 12:02 AM   #28
Child Alert! Pull Up!
 
fltdek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Lights/outlets stopped working


Another question i may ask, has there been any thing such as nails, screws or of the such, say to hang something on the wall prior to your problem, that may have pierced the wiring in the wall?

Advertisement

fltdek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane Outside fan stopped working - cap or relay? JAWyrick HVAC 2 07-12-2011 12:03 PM
Water Dispenser Stopped Working dgoldb1 Appliances 20 05-16-2011 06:48 PM
Heat Pump Fan Has Stopped Working TurboSteve HVAC 2 12-15-2010 01:40 PM
Outlets stopped working RammsteinNicCage Electrical 12 05-03-2009 10:47 PM
Rheem furnace stopped working kgsolomon1 HVAC 1 02-09-2008 07:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts