Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-26-2011, 04:31 PM   #16
DRM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Yes if both switches are removed the lights are still on! Really appreciate all your help!

DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 04:48 PM   #17
DRM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Yes, with switches removed lights are still on! Thanks for all your help!
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 05:15 PM   #18
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,105
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Now you need to remove the screws holding the fixtures against the ceiling and post back how the wiring is up in those boxes. Make sure you turn the breaker to off, due to you are working with live voltage.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 05:50 PM   #19
DRM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Unfortunatly no ceiling boxes at either fixture...just wire coming out of the ceiling....and just 2 wires at each fixture...and to complicate thing this is a 3 story so there is a finished floor on the 3rd floor...wish it was an unfloored attic!!
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 07:04 AM   #20
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Knob & tube wiring?? Was there electrical work done in other areas recently?
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 07:23 AM   #21
DRM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


There has been no recent electrical work done.......it appears that years ago some new creative wiring was done! Have areas where new wire tied to old and when I say creative...I mean places where 14-3 should have been used and 14-2 was used and a single wire run along side it. The old wire is cloth covered individual wires from what I can see....nothing exposed so that I can see any tube insulators...but because of the wire type I would assume tube and knuckle!
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 07:24 AM   #22
DRM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Oops tube and knob!!
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 08:09 AM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Varmit shorted out switch loop.

We had one situation where the light in the main foyer suddenly stopped working. Turns out there was a coon in the attic that chewed thru the wiring, cause he wanted to get into a new cubby-hole he was eyeballing, and the wiring was in his way.

So, if you consider that a varmit can cause wiring to fail, it would also be possible that one could short out a switch loop, taking the wall switches out of the circuit completely.....

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Indoor switch for outdoor motion activated security lights youngdoc Electrical 5 12-02-2010 02:07 PM
3-way switches, lights, and a photoelectric switch. Your thoughts? Fox Electrical 7 11-23-2010 10:08 AM
Wiring up an outside set of motion sensing lights airdaleairdale Electrical 1 06-11-2009 08:35 PM
2 lights one switch, power to the switch . . . gregoryc Electrical 15 03-17-2009 10:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.