Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-26-2011, 08:56 AM   #1
DRM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Have hall lights controlled by 3 way switches. The problem is one day I turned the lights on and now neither switch will turn lights off. Replaced both switches...no power to switches and lights are still on?

DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 10:43 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,868
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Tell us the WHOLE story and maybe we can help.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
DRM (08-26-2011), gregzoll (08-26-2011)
Old 08-26-2011, 10:54 AM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


I am thinking brric, that someone has been playing with some lights, and messed things up. Of course, there is that rare possibility that a switch went bad, but that would be far fetched.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
DRM (08-26-2011)
Old 08-26-2011, 10:56 AM   #4
DRM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Sorry, don't know what else to tell you....turned lights on and won"t turn off....tested wires at both switches and no power at either switch. Have to have connections in a junction box buried somewhere because there are only three wires at each switch with no other wires connected in either box and the light fixtures only have a hot and neutral in each ceiling box!
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 11:20 AM   #5
DRM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


gregzoll, no one had touched the lights and I replaced both switches thinking that was the problem...there is no power coming to either switch!
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 11:23 AM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by DRM View Post
gregzoll, no one had touched the lights and I replaced both switches thinking that was the problem...there is no power coming to either switch!
If you replaced the switches, then yes that is where the problem is. Post pictures of the switches how you wired them.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 11:32 AM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,868
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


You say hall lights, as in plural. How do you know there is only two wires at the fixture(s)?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 11:49 AM   #8
DRM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Lights would not turn off before I replaced the switches...were working fine ..then one day they would not turn off. Dropped fixtures down from ceiling boxes so I could check wire connections that is how I know what wires are there.. No power coming to the switches !
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 11:52 AM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Something happened to cause the lights to stay on. They do not just turn on all by themselves. Do you own or rent this place?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 11:56 AM   #10
DRM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Wire exactly as the ones that were replaced marked all wires....just don't get why no power in any wires coming to switches.....could it be bad connection wherever these are tied together in a junction box?
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 11:56 AM   #11
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,868
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by DRM View Post
Lights would not turn off before I replaced the switches...were working fine ..then one day they would not turn off. Dropped fixtures down from ceiling boxes so I could check wire connections that is how I know what wires are there.. No power coming to the switches !
There doesn't have to be power at the switches if the power is at the fixture.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 11:58 AM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,868
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by DRM View Post
Wire exactly as the ones that were replaced marked all wires....just don't get why no power in any wires coming to switches.....could it be bad connection wherever these are tied together in a junction box?
Yes, in the fixture j-box.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 12:04 PM   #13
DRM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Didn't turn on by them selves....turned on and then would not turn off with either switch...own home but is obvious previous owner did some creative wiring on his own....home over 100 years old with some upgrades...but have no idea where he might have tied the power in for these switches...not at fixtures and not at lights....has to be a junction somewhere behind walls or in ceiling!
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 12:06 PM   #14
DRM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


Would it be a problem with the neutral somewhere?
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 12:07 PM   #15
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,868
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Lights on... no power to switch


If you remove both switches are the lights still on?

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Indoor switch for outdoor motion activated security lights youngdoc Electrical 5 12-02-2010 02:07 PM
3-way switches, lights, and a photoelectric switch. Your thoughts? Fox Electrical 7 11-23-2010 10:08 AM
Wiring up an outside set of motion sensing lights airdaleairdale Electrical 1 06-11-2009 08:35 PM
2 lights one switch, power to the switch . . . gregoryc Electrical 15 03-17-2009 10:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.