Lights Got Dim, Low Voltage? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2011, 12:59 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lights got dim, low voltage?


We had a 2 day blackout due to the recent storm by Irene. We've had power back for 2 days now. When we got home today, it seemed that most of our lights were not as bright as normal. The coffee maker would not light up, and the microwave took over twice as long to heat. TV works fine.

The power co says that their end is OK and it's "our problem", and we need an electrician. What could possibly be wrong besides the power company not providing enough voltage and a "brownout"?

Advertisement


Last edited by menton1; 09-04-2011 at 01:07 AM.
menton1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 01:43 AM   #2
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Lights got dim, low voltage?


I would agree with you that it sounds like it's on the poco's end.

Are any of your neighbors experiencing this?

Advertisement

Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 08:01 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Lights got dim, low voltage?


Have you measured the voltage from each of the hot wires to neutral in the panel (or between the prong holes in many different receptacles)?
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 08:32 AM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Lights got dim, low voltage?


if your neighbors have the same problems its the power company,but get the top of your CB panel read to see if it 208/230 on the pole feed..sounds like everything is dragging like in a brown out....
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding underground electric wire for driveway lights. mitch21131 Electrical 25 09-24-2012 09:52 AM
Use factory fog light switch for aftermarket lights? downunder Automotive Repairs 6 07-10-2010 12:45 PM
New recessed lighting: Line Voltage vs. low voltage hyunelan2 Electrical 0 10-12-2009 01:25 PM
Outdoor lights (Soffit etc) DIY_JC Electrical 2 09-25-2009 12:45 PM
adding lights mharwell01 Electrical 1 01-03-2009 04:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts