Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2009, 02:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

lights dim


When my well pump kicks on and my dryer sometime my lights dim. its not just on one circuit either. Does anyone know what could be causing? maybe a loose ground in the service panel? thanks

mike242424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 07:25 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,553
Rewards Points: 32
Default

lights dim


Not an uncommon thing when large loads startup.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 07:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

lights dim


Could be a lot of things, including normal.

Occaisionally my lights dim when my neighbors A/C kicks on.

All you can do is open up stuff and check connections/bus/terminals.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 08:15 PM   #4
Contractor in PA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 0
Default

lights dim


If the problem is major issue with you, then contact the utility supplier. They will check out their equipment (which may be old or undersized etc) without charge to you. If it is their equipment, they will replace or repair their items. If the problem is on your end / side they will tell you.
michaelpwalton1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 08:25 PM   #5
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 0
Default

lights dim


Doesn't sound like a problem at all. Now, if some lights go dim, while at the same time others get very bright when a load kicks on, that's a problem.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 09:01 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 0
Default

lights dim


Quote:
Originally Posted by mike242424 View Post
sometime my lights dim.
its not just on one circuit either.
More than 1v drop with the dryer on is probably trouble.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 08:46 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

lights dim


thanks for all the infor guys i appreciate it. Its nothing serious but i was curious to see what people had to say about it thanks again
mike242424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 10:20 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to ckellyusa
Default

lights dim


Hey, I wanted to add to this since I'm experiencing the same problem, but on a much more serious scale.

The one common thread is turning on the dryer makes the power drop almost 40 volts in one room. Sometimes this causing the voltage to spike in my room up to about 160.

Other times, something like the microwave or A/C could cause the lights to dim, other power to fluctuate throughout the house.


Electrician help please!!!
ckellyusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 10:42 AM   #9
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 0
Default

lights dim


Quote:
Originally Posted by ckellyusa View Post
Hey, I wanted to add to this since I'm experiencing the same problem, but on a much more serious scale.

The one common thread is turning on the dryer makes the power drop almost 40 volts in one room. Sometimes this causing the voltage to spike in my room up to about 160.

Other times, something like the microwave or A/C could cause the lights to dim, other power to fluctuate throughout the house.


Electrician help please!!!
This is a more serious problem and is probably a loose service neutral. Call the power company first, because they won't charge you to come out and check the connections on their side.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 10:58 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to ckellyusa
Default

lights dim


I did call the power company (TXU) and they said they would send someone out.

I never heard from them, but they told me I wouldn't unless there was a serious problem.
ckellyusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 11:38 AM   #11
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 0
Default

lights dim


Quote:
Originally Posted by ckellyusa View Post
I did call the power company (TXU) and they said they would send someone out.

I never heard from them, but they told me I wouldn't unless there was a serious problem.
It is a serious problem, as your sensitive electronics and appliances can be destroyed by this situation. Call them until something gets done. 9 times out of 10 this is a problem on their side. They need to come out and apply a load test at the meter. This is the only valid way they can check it. If they only do a visual inspection, they may miss it, as has just happened with another poster on a different thread.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 12:35 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 0
Default

lights dim


Quote:
Originally Posted by ckellyusa View Post
turning on the dryer makes the power drop almost 40 volts in one room. Sometimes this causing the voltage to spike in my room up to about 160.
Not an electrician, but this means you have 40vac across a bad neutral connection.
Pulling 16A or so through this neutral connection means 40v x 16A = ~600w. If this is a bolted connection it must get extremely hot.

Your incand. lamps should have 2% of their normal lifetime at 160v.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 06:14 PM   #13
WFO
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 0
Default

lights dim


Quote:
Originally Posted by ckellyusa View Post

The one common thread is turning on the dryer makes the power drop almost 40 volts in one room. Sometimes this causing the voltage to spike in my room up to about 160.
Unless the dryer is a 120 volt appliance (which I doubt) it is unusual for a 240 volt load to cause a rise in voltage. From the description of your problem, I agree with everyone else about a neutral problem.....I'm just wondering if you have some bad connections elsewhere to boot.
WFO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 06:57 PM   #14
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 0
Default

lights dim


Quote:
Originally Posted by WFO View Post
Unless the dryer is a 120 volt appliance (which I doubt) it is unusual for a 240 volt load to cause a rise in voltage. From the description of your problem, I agree with everyone else about a neutral problem.....I'm just wondering if you have some bad connections elsewhere to boot.
Dryers are usually 120/240 V. The motor and system timer is 120 V, and sometimes the low heat setting is 120 V, while the high heat setting is 240 V.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 10:29 PM   #15
WFO
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 0
Default

lights dim


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Dryers are usually 120/240 V. The motor and system timer is 120 V, and sometimes the low heat setting is 120 V, while the high heat setting is 240 V.

Ooops. My bad!

WFO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding underground electric wire for driveway lights. mitch21131 Electrical 25 09-24-2012 08:52 AM
Changing switch for lights in basement, confused on current wiring. RyanD Electrical 2 05-14-2009 08:37 PM
undercabinet puck lights ccalmonte Electrical 7 08-05-2008 08:25 PM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 07:23 PM
Pot lights in a drop ceiling Howdy Electrical 3 03-14-2008 08:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.