Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2011, 09:45 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

lights & air pump at pond


hello every one. i have a electrical question. '

ive done my own electrical for years. however, this is a first.


question

i have a pond with a small bldg aprox 950 ft from my main house that id like to run power to. what id be looking providing power for is

3 lights max 60 watts ea

1 aerator with the following specs
SafeStart™ Compressor Technology
• UL, 115 volt, single phase, max 35 PSI
• Thermal overload protection
• 1/2 hp (0.37 kW) for exceptionally low monthly electrical costs
• 4.2 amps and 4.2 CFM at typical 10.0 PSI operating pressure

main house has a 200 amp panel. was planning to run a 10/3 direct bury
to provide 2 15 amp circuits 1 for lights & the other just for the aerator.

would the 10 gauge wire provide enough capacity to meet this load demand. I know there will be voltage drop but im just not understanding the numbers involved to determine whether or not this will work. i hate to spend the money on a roll of 10/3 & then find out it not work. spoke with electric co. & they would prefer i run a whole new service to pond. but heck then i have to pay for new service not to mention all the monthly taxes & service fees involved..\

if this is doable what size breakers would be used at both ends

any suggestions would be deeply apreciated
thanks jshepp


Last edited by jshepp; 06-16-2011 at 09:48 AM.
jshepp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 07:28 PM   #2
WDR
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 94
Default

lights & air pump at pond


If you want to use # 10 you will have to get a 240 volt compressor and use 240 volt light bulbs.If you did this you would not need a neutral. The compressor alone at 120 according to a online calculator would require #6.

WDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 07:49 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,360
Default

lights & air pump at pond


I'd run a 240 Volt circuit with 10/2 and use a transformer at the far end to create 120/240 nominal voltage for your loads. Get a multi-tap transformer/power conditioner so you can bump it up to achieve your desired output.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (06-16-2011)
Old 06-16-2011, 08:16 PM   #4
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,521
Default

lights & air pump at pond


You might even want to consider a small solar power system instead of running that much wire. That is an exceedingly long run. If you can use an aerator that only operates sometimes, or a lower-power aerator, then a solar setup might be more affordable.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 10:48 AM   #5
WDR
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 94
Default

lights & air pump at pond


They also make windmills that have an air pump, but the ones I have seen are quite expensive. It might be a good option if you could fined one for cheap and you have a fair amount of wind where you live. I agree that the transformer would probably be best if you run power out there.
WDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 06:14 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default

lights & air pump at pond


ok guys i did some research on multitap tramsformer & will call acme on monday. but thier website also suggested a buck/ boost transfromer.

based upon what im trying to do, this would boost me up to 25%. that should be suffiecient. or am i interpreting this correctly. not sure of the difference between multitap & buck/ boost other than multitap appears to be more directed to landscaping

it appears a buck boost rated at 15A goes for about $100

not sure about the cost for the multitap

any input or either will be appreciated

thanks john
jshepp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 12:26 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

lights & air pump at pond


That is pretty long run some case what I do is run two transfomers (480X120/240 volts } so you can get by with #10 AWG that will keep the cost down a little otherwise you will have to find #6 URD alum cables.

I know # 6 is about the smallest URD alum cable they do make { unless I am wrong on that one }

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 01:06 PM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,521
Default

lights & air pump at pond


Quote:
Originally Posted by jshepp View Post
ok guys i did some research on multitap tramsformer & will call acme on monday. but thier website also suggested a buck/ boost transfromer.

based upon what im trying to do, this would boost me up to 25%. that should be suffiecient. or am i interpreting this correctly. not sure of the difference between multitap & buck/ boost other than multitap appears to be more directed to landscaping

it appears a buck boost rated at 15A goes for about $100

not sure about the cost for the multitap

any input or either will be appreciated

thanks john
You don't want to use a buck/boost transformer for this. That is used to make relatively small adjustments in voltage (say, changing 208V to 240V) or to compensate for consistent voltage drop on a circuit with a constant load. Instead, you want to run 240V power and use a transformer to convert it to 120V at the far end. Even better, as Frenchelectrician said, you can use a transformer at each end: one to step 240V up to 480, then one to convert 480V to 120/240. This will allow the smallest wire possible.

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (06-19-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to find out why your pool pump is not fully priming tripflex How To Guides 6 07-13-2011 06:31 PM
dimming lights from large geothermal heat pump atuel Electrical 65 01-14-2011 04:16 AM
Low Well Pressure, Submersible Well Pump, Help Please! tpolk Plumbing 7 11-13-2009 06:13 PM
New lights in basement CooperChloe Electrical 11 01-11-2009 11:22 AM
How to test pond pump motor for current leakage? Timster Appliances 12 11-25-2008 03:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.