Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-14-2011, 02:12 PM   #1

Share |

Lightning Strike

I'm an Electrical/Computer Engineer, but my experience with high voltage systems is limited. Yesterday while I was at work, my wife called me in a panic and said there was an explosion either right outside or inside our house. She said everything shook, pictures fell off the wall, the fire alarms went off (for about 30 seconds), and there was extremely loud noise accompanied by a bright flash. After a describing all of this too me, she finally ended with, "Maybe it was lightning?".

When I got home, I found that half of our circuit breakers were tripped, all the GFCI's were tripped, and most of our video equipment was toast, despite most of it being on surge protectors. Lots of little stuff is toast as well, but in the end, I doubt the total damage to the electronics alone will be much over my insurance deductible. What a mess.

Last night, however, while turning off the lights, I noticed that there were scorch marks around the screws on the outlet and light switch covers. I started checking others, and noticed the same thing on several more, all either around the screw holes or around the ground of the sockets. This has me quite worried. What are the potential effects on the house's wiring? Could this type of incident damage the wiring making it unsafe?

I don't know if the lightning struck us directly or struck nearby, but based on the extent of the damage, and the fact that the neighbors weren't affected in the same way (they all heard it, but no damage), I'm betting it hit the house. If so, I'm worried it came in through the roof and hit Romex somewhere in the attic, damaging it.

Has anyone experienced a similar incident? To what extent, if any, was the damage to the house's electrical system?

-MSUdom5

MSUdom5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 02:22 PM   #2