Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-25-2012, 07:10 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 95
Share |
Question

Lighting in Basement


I am about to put new lighting in my basemen and plan to use can lighting.

I would like to know how many cans I should put in a room that is 12' X 28'?

I am using 6 inch cans.

I thought that 18 cans would be ideal and I would use CFL lights on 3 dimmer switches.

I am looking for the most efferent way to light the basement.

I also plan to go to a 200 amp. flues box fro a 100 amp one. They tell me that you will save on electric is this right?

I am changing my wiring to 12-3 and this will make things ran cooler also. I am a believer in this.


If you have any suggestions to make thing more efferent please help me.

nhoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 07:35 AM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,650
Default

Lighting in Basement


Start with light at the main things like work/use areas and traffic lanes.
Then fill in the other areas in a pattern that aligns with those fixtures.

Remember to not set fixtures too close to walls...
unless they are right up next to the wall with "wall wash" covers.

Look at the 'coverage' area that each fixture can light at X feet off the floor.
Attached Images
 

TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 08:10 AM   #3
Banned Electrician
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MA, Master Electrician
Posts: 203
Default

Lighting in Basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by nhoj View Post
I am about to put new lighting in my basemen and plan to use can lighting.

I would like to know how many cans I should put in a room that is 12' X 28'?

I am using 6 inch cans.

I thought that 18 cans would be ideal and I would use CFL lights on 3 dimmer switches.

I am looking for the most efferent way to light the basement.

I also plan to go to a 200 amp. flues box fro a 100 amp one. They tell me that you will save on electric is this right?

I am changing my wiring to 12-3 and this will make things ran cooler also. I am a believer in this.


If you have any suggestions to make thing more efferent please help me.
Make sure those CFL lamps are of the Dimmable type.
__________________
"Government is not the solution to our problem; Government is the problem."
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 08:13 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,861
Default

Lighting in Basement


Alternative you could use an "even lighting" approach.

I would say that ten lights, two rows of five, would be enough for general lighting.

About 3 feet from the walls, about six feet between lights.

Add extra lights here and there for accent or for work areas.

If the ceiling is high enough, track lighting would be better than can lights for work areas since you can move these around for a changing decor much more easily.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 02-25-2012 at 08:19 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 01:57 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,682
Default

Lighting in Basement


You are not going to save electricity by changing to a 200 amp service, nor will using 12/3 cause things to run "cooler"
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (02-25-2012), SD515 (02-25-2012)
Old 02-25-2012, 02:18 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 95
Question

Lighting in Basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
You are not going to save electricity by changing to a 200 amp service, nor will using 12/3 cause things to run "cooler"

By going to a 200 amp. flues box what are my out come from the old 100 amp. flues box?

There has to be a better out come of going to 12-3 wire in today's world of electrics isn't there?
nhoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 02:21 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 95
Default

Lighting in Basement


Is there a formula to use in setting can lighting?

How far apart they should go. Remember I have 6 inch cans.
nhoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 02:39 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,397
Default

Lighting in Basement


Recessed light spacing is influenced by mounting height, work surface height, trim style, bulb type and beam spread. Look at the graphic posted by Tarheel for an idea.

The use of the lighting will also have an effect. Task light spacing would be different than for general lighting.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 02:49 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 95
Default

Lighting in Basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Recessed light spacing is influenced by mounting height, work surface height, trim style, bulb type and beam spread. Look at the graphic posted by Tarheel for an idea.

The use of the lighting will also have an effect. Task light spacing would be different than for general lighting.
I would use it as general lighting.

Task lighting would be lighting where you do your work right? Or is this a different type of lighting than can lights?
nhoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:12 PM   #10
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Lighting in Basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by nhoj View Post
I also plan to go to a 200 amp. flues box fro a 100 amp one.
What's a "flues box"? Do you mean fuse box? Or probably more appropriate, a breaker panel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhoj View Post
They tell me that you will save on electric is this right?
Nope. A watt is a watt, and is what you pay for. Using equipment that uses less watts is where savings come from, not the size of your service. A 200A panel will only give you more ampacity for use in the house (more circuits or larger equipment typically).

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhoj View Post
I am changing my wiring to 12-3 and this will make things ran cooler also. I am a believer in this.
You can believe it if you wish, but it's not true. If it were true, most every house would have 12ga instead of 14ga, and 14ga would be a rare thing to find.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:23 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 95
Default

Lighting in Basement


What are the new homes using today 100 amp. or 200 amp. breaker panel?

I do agree with you, I also feel comfortable 12-3.
nhoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:30 PM   #12
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 222
Default

Lighting in Basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by nhoj
What are the new homes using today 100 amp. or 200 amp. breaker panel?

I do agree with you, I also feel comfortable 12-3.
Depends on the load calculation. Also why are you so fixed on 12/3?
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:34 PM   #13
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Lighting in Basement


Most homes in my area are getting 200A services installed. But most homes in my area never get a load calculation done. They just throw in a 200. If they did do a calculation, most homes would only require 150A, with some only needing 125A or even 100A. One of those things that bigger is better…gotta out do the Jones.

IMO, 12ga wiring is a waste of money when not needed, but do as you wish.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:47 PM   #14
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,650
Default

Lighting in Basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by nhoj View Post
...I also feel comfortable 12-3.
1) aside from a 3 way switch (do you have any?)...
you won't need or be better served with 3wire of whatever gauge
2) you'll find that 14/2 is MUCH easier to work with.

If you're bound and determined to spend money...
buy an extra AFCI breaker and split your load.

@75W per (super cheap cans with Par 30?)... still allows you 19 fixtures on a 15A circuit.
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:51 PM   #15
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,397
Default

Lighting in Basement


Perhaps the OP has ungrounded wiring and is thinking the 12-3 will provide a ground?

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cutting out a concrete basement floor jeffhoward001 Building & Construction 21 01-17-2012 08:51 PM
multiple choice - basement bathroom venting debacle and burps denemante Plumbing 1 11-15-2011 10:50 AM
Adding Subpanel for Basement - Few Questions mindle Electrical 28 01-07-2010 08:49 AM
recessed lighting in basement DIY4EVER Electrical 6 06-29-2007 02:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.