Light Wired From Socket - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2011, 05:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Light wired from socket


can a feed for a light be taken from a socket??

Advertisement

william11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 05:19 PM   #2
Member
 
iminaquagmire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 415
Rewards Points: 334
Default


That depends. Where is the receptacle and what else is on that circuit? is the receptacle switched or does it have constant power?

Advertisement

iminaquagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 05:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default


constant power the soket is in the kitchen over the counter the lights are going to be under the press
william11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 05:28 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,123
Rewards Points: 400
Default


The small appliance countertop circuits cannot be used for lighting.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 05:30 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default


there is 4 sockets on the circuit with a 20amp mcb why will this not do
william11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 05:42 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
william11 there is 4 sockets on the circuit with a 20amp mcb why will this not do
because the National Electrical Code (which is used in almost the entire country) does not allow lights to be fed from the circuits that provide power for the counters in a kitchen.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 05:48 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default


but it can be done the light will only be on for about a half an hour every day.
william11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 05:49 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


it doesn't make any difference. It just is not allowed to be wired like that.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 05:56 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default


i have the wire in so sorry its gonna have to do now was just wondering do i a spur because im going from 2.5 to 1.5
william11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 06:05 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,771
Rewards Points: 3,648
Default


Use a portable light fixture that can be hung on the wall (the fixture has a cord and plug).
__________________
Tornado victims: Do not rush to rebuild. Take your time and look for and get a good contractor. Or consider selling the property and moving to a home that is ready to live in.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 06:07 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,123
Rewards Points: 400
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by william11 View Post
i have the wire in so sorry its gonna have to do now was just wondering do i a spur because im going from 2.5 to 1.5
Another I don't like the answer I got so I will ignore it and install something not to code. Would you take the same approach about brain surgery?

What is 2.5 and 1.5?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 06:09 PM   #12
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Another I don't like the answer I got so I will ignore it and install something not to code. Would you take the same approach about brain surgery?

What is 2.5 and 1.5?
he's not in the US.

notice the term "spur" and the 1.5 and 2.5 are wire sizes.



where are you william?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 06:13 PM   #13
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,477
Rewards Points: 9,746
Blog Entries: 11
Default


The term MCB and spur tells me you are not in USA. You must be in UK. The rules over there are completely different. You might be fine. Maybe someone with UK experience will come by and give a yes or no.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 06:19 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default


im in ireland guys 2.5 and 1,5 square cable.sorry its just the wire is in already
william11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 06:25 PM   #15
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,123
Rewards Points: 400
Default


Most of the advise given here is based on the US codes.

Without your location filled in it is hard to know what applies to your situation.

I apologize for sounding harsh. Many professionals here try very hard to give accurate advise to ensure someone knows how to do things safely.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring 2 light fixtures to same switch and add outlet RyanS2000 Electrical 13 10-10-2010 02:17 AM
Changing a Outdoor light to a socket la15ota Electrical 5 10-14-2009 01:49 PM
Best way to hide overcut drywall with light socket Red Squirrel Drywall & Plaster 7 08-17-2009 11:24 AM
light switches wired in series -- why? magnolia Electrical 2 05-11-2008 11:16 AM
Switching from light socket to plug - stupid question CGofMP Electrical 5 03-25-2005 09:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1