Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2006, 12:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Light switches (uk)


Need to know how too wire another switch so I can hook up a security light. By swapping a sinlge switch to a double switch.

davegold2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 06:26 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,861
Rewards Points: 2,516
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Light switches (uk)


It will look like this. I don't know what color wires you use in UK but the switch will have two on it now. Add a three wire cable from the existing switch to the new switch and hook it up like this. The two wires coming from the light fixture in the drawing are your existing two wires on the switch.

http://www.selfhelpandmore.com/switc...wayfixture.htm

joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low Voltage Light Switches...40 year old house derekspudich Electrical 28 08-22-2011 12:34 AM
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 03:18 PM
2 switches to same light use 1 for another light gmcclel Electrical 9 05-29-2007 01:30 AM
Where to buy paddle light switches in bulk? Proulx06 Electrical 3 05-21-2007 06:43 AM
Bathroom light switches Blaze25 Electrical 3 11-13-2006 02:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.