Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-23-2010, 01:57 AM   #16
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Share |
Default

Light switches not working in bedrooms


Normally the switched receptales you will see the colours are black red and white.

If you see both black and red then you know it is switched recpetale but some case it can be split circuit which i doubit in your situation.

By the code we must installed a ceiling luminaire or switched receptale by each room egreess { door }.

I belive that someone did replace the receptale and not pay attetion to the switched part and have to break the tab off which it kinda common item I get with my service calls.

Before you do that make sure you turn off the power to the affected recetales before you do anything.

And let us know if you did see three colours on the receptales { I don't count the bare or green due it is automatic count }

Merci.
Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
MasterNES (08-23-2010)
Old 08-23-2010, 02:16 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Light switches not working in bedrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Normally the switched receptales you will see the colours are black red and white.

If you see both black and red then you know it is switched recpetale but some case it can be split circuit which i doubit in your situation.

By the code we must installed a ceiling luminaire or switched receptale by each room egreess { door }.

I belive that someone did replace the receptale and not pay attetion to the switched part and have to break the tab off which it kinda common item I get with my service calls.

Before you do that make sure you turn off the power to the affected recetales before you do anything.

And let us know if you did see three colours on the receptales { I don't count the bare or green due it is automatic count }

Merci.
Marc
Thanks for the information. I'll remove all of the receptacles first and check for red cables in each of them. Hopefully I'll find one, and it will make my task that much easier.
MasterNES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 02:19 AM   #18
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Light switches not working in bedrooms


That is not a issue however if no red but more than 2 black conductors in each box that can get little more tricky to sort it out I have ran into like that at least couple of them so far.

A quick tip at the switch location typically the first switched recetaple will be useally located next to the switch { not always the case sometime it will be one corner of the room } so you have to check all of it to make sure.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 07:58 AM   #19
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,513
Default

Light switches not working in bedrooms


If you look at the switch can you tell us the colors of the wires connected to the switch? Are there any other wires not attached to the switch in the switchbox?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 09:58 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 22
Default

Light switches not working in bedrooms


YES, that's OK
RDGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 11:38 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Light switches not working in bedrooms


I looked at the switch. It has a red wire in the top right and a black wire in the bottom right.

I then check all four outlets in this room. Two of them look like this:

(top left) white - black (top right)
(bottom left) white - black (bottom right)

One of them looks like this:
(top left) white - black (top right)
(bottom left) nothing? - nothing? (bottom right)

And the last looks like:
(top left) white - red (top right)
(bottom left) nothing? - black (bottom right)

So it sounds like this last one is the one connected to the switch? Why is it that some of the outlets have 4 connections (2 black + 2 white), whereas other outlets only have 2 (1 black + white)?
MasterNES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 11:49 AM   #22
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Light switches not working in bedrooms


Bingo .,

One is your switched recetpale on that one break the tab and you are good to go.

there are some case you will see just one pair of conductors due sometime it will connected to other rooms as well so when you turn off the breaker for that circuit look at all the recpetales that affect the circuit and it will be good time to make a listing what recetpale / switches on that circuit or other circuit due over the time someone will change what is not on oringaily.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 01:24 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Light switches not working in bedrooms


Great, it worked! Thanks everyone for the assistance. This fix was surprisingly simple.
MasterNES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 04:03 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Light switches not working in bedrooms


Looks like I spoke too soon. The light switch is working fine in the first bedroom, so I went to do the second. Same setup...four outlets, a light switch with 1 red and 1 black. I again found the outlet with a red wire. I pulled the tab off, just like before...but it's not working! It's always on, just like before. I replaced the outlet with the one that I had in the first room to make sure the tab was pulled correctly, but this didn't fix it. Next, I suppose I'll try replacing the light switch with the one from the first room to make sure the switch isn't defective...but I'm not optimistic that this will work. Does anyone have other ideas?

EDIT: I just switched the switches and, as expected, it didn't work. What does this mean? Are the red and black cables making contact somewhere I can't see?

Last edited by MasterNES; 08-23-2010 at 05:32 PM.
MasterNES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 08:22 PM   #25
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Light switches not working in bedrooms


in second bedroom check all the receptales to make sure you don't miss it at all somecase I have see show up in couple odd spots.

I think it time for you to get the DVM if you have one that great otherwise you can get one at big box store or ask one of your freinds if they have one.

What you will have to do first is unhook that red wire at the recetale and check the voltage when the switch is off { just be aware with pathom voltage or ghost voltage so use the test light instead } if the switch is off and the red wire at the recetaple location is off then you may have something hitting on for some reason like a nick or something.

But if still on with the switch in off postion then you have to do little more trouble shooting.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 03:17 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Light switches not working in bedrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
in second bedroom check all the receptales to make sure you don't miss it at all somecase I have see show up in couple odd spots.
I'm not sure I understand you...what am I looking for when I check all of the receptacles?
MasterNES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 07:57 PM   #27
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Light switches not working in bedrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterNES View Post
I'm not sure I understand you...what am I looking for when I check all of the receptacles?
Yep.

Ya have to check all of it to make sure due some case it will show up in diffrent place than you think.,, { I have see that more than once }

And it will not always be close to the switch as well so you will have to check all of it to make sure.

Due in your bedroom situation if you have no ceiling luminaire at all but have junction box with cover then that one of few spots it will show up if no ceiling luminaire then it will be one of the recetptales it can be single duxplex recepectale or all are half switched all you have to look for extra conductor and double check the switch box sometime it will have extra conductor in there as well.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 11:27 PM   #28
Mr.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default

Light switches not working in bedrooms


Seems like a connection problem. You might want to get a professional to help you with this. It's not fun getting electrocuted.


Last edited by timothytaylor; 08-25-2010 at 12:52 AM.
timothytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed new light switches and now fan/light won't work theemorgandorfe Electrical 2 05-24-2010 10:13 PM
Flip light switches? techprincesse Electrical 17 08-31-2009 12:19 PM
Disposal and Sink Light quit working Sling Blade Electrical 2 05-25-2009 07:49 PM
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 03:18 PM
light switches wired in series -- why? magnolia Electrical 2 05-11-2008 11:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.