Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2008, 10:08 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Light switches not working


First off, I'm by no means an expert at any of this; so any DIY things that I may be able to do may need some pretty detailed steps.

My home is a little on the older side, but over the past 3-4 years some of the switches just randomly stopped working. Now I know it's not the light bulb itself since they have been tested a few different times with new ones and other functioning ones from other lights in the house.

My most recent switch failure was in my bathroom and the first day that I discovered it, when I hit the switch I would see the light flicker REALLY quickly then die out. It did this for about a day or two then it wouldn't flicker at all. Sorry if this is totally useless background

Total light switch locations that simply don't work anymore:
Bathroom
Basement
Dining Room (We have two for this fixture and the other one works fine)

Any help you guys can give me would be fantastic, also if this is simply something that I shouldn't/cant do myself and I would need an electrician any idea what the cost for this sorta thing would be?

Thanks a ton guys!

marc633 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 10:18 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,461
Default

Light switches not working


Replace the light switch. They do go bad sometimes.
If they were all installed at the same time and were all the cheapest ones available it is not unlikely that they could all start going bad at the same time.

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 11:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Light switches not working


Agree.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 02:11 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Light switches not working


It is most likely the switches that have gone bad. If they are single pole [a switch that controls a light or receptacle from one location] simply remove the wires from each screw and screw them to the new switch. In this case it does not matter what wire goes on what screw.

If you have more than one wire per screw let us know as this is not correct.
sparky46350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 02:40 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Light switches not working


I'll try this, all the switches are the same age so I guess this does make a lot of sense.

I'll post with the results in a couple days!

Thanks
marc633 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 10:14 PM   #6
electrician
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 326
Default

Light switches not working


It seems like the decora switches seem to fail pretty often from my experience. I like the snap switches better.
Silk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 10:16 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Light switches not working


When you replace the switch, notice if the screws are tight. Sometimes the wire heating and cooling will cause some of the metal in the wire (especially aluminum wire ) to displace. Over time this can cause a loose connection. I have seen this happen with outlets also. If that is the case I would check ALL switches and outlets in the house.
Keniki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 05:34 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Light switches not working


If you run a short loop of insulated wire from one switch screw terminal to the other, and the light comes on, it's the switch. Each wire end needs to be stripped of insulation 1/8" or so.

If you have a clear view of the switch terminals when the wall plate is removed you can do this switch shunting procedure without dismounting the switch.

Be careful disturbing old wiring; it gets brittle.

If the light doesn't come on, it could still be a bad switch but there's also a problem somewhere else.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 03:18 PM
Light switches jules81 Electrical 2 12-03-2007 10:51 AM
Halogen motion sensor light stopped working, Incandescent still works keyser soze Electrical 6 05-29-2007 08:53 PM
2 switches to same light use 1 for another light gmcclel Electrical 9 05-29-2007 01:30 AM
Light switch not working! jtbel Electrical 4 12-09-2006 06:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.