Light Switches - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2009, 11:00 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

light switches


three yrs ago had an addition put on my house, problem is all my light switches sounds like they are sparking behind the plate, some lights only work half the time. any suggestions,loose wires, switches junk already? thanks

Advertisement

sldhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 11:32 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

light switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by sldhed View Post
all my light switches sounds like they are sparking behind the plate
If they really are drawing an arc an AM radio tuned between stations should pick this up, but you first need to know what the 'pop' that a normal switch transmits sounds like on the radio.

Advertisement

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 12:46 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

light switches


Pull each one out of the box with the power turned off. Replace each switch and make sure you have good connections. Yep, thats it.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 02:38 PM   #4
The expert
 
StarPollux99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via AIM to StarPollux99
Default

light switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Pull each one out of the box with the power turned off. Replace each switch and make sure you have good connections. Yep, thats it.
Was gonna post this exact thing. Any update?
StarPollux99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 02:46 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

light switches


I guess I'd look for the root cause of this massive failure.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 12:02 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

light switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
I guess I'd look for the root cause of this massive failure.
Cheap switches and or bad craftsmanship. Connections in particular. Also, over time electrical devices heat up and cool down. This natural occurrence causes connections to lose their integrity.

Come On. Hes not trying to get his house ISO certified.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 12:31 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

light switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Cheap switches and or bad craftsmanship. Connections in particular. Also, over time electrical devices heat up and cool down. This natural occurrence causes connections to lose their integrity.

Come On. Hes not trying to get his house ISO certified.
Root cause =
normal aging and/or
defective parts and/or
not installed in a workmanlike manner
I'll go with that.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 01:55 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

light switches


Some years back I bought a new house. Over time switches and outlets were not working, sometimes... Found the wires wrapped around the screws but the screw not tightened. After fixing a couple offending this way, I opened up all the switches and outlets - virtually all were like this...
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 02:03 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

light switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
virtually all were like this...
Ok, let's add
lack of due diligence and
lack of duty of care
to the root cause.

The fix for these causes is probably more lawsuits.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 05:24 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

light switches


appreciate the responses, i am going to go with cheap switches due to the fact that i saw a lot of home depot bags around when the licensed electrician was working. now to replace these, what brand is a good one? again thank you

Advertisement

sldhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 08:53 AM
Separating Fan and Light Switches GeauxCajuns82 Electrical 11 08-26-2008 01:03 AM
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 04:18 PM
50+ year old home-all light switches one-way? mudpaw Electrical 13 06-22-2008 02:57 PM
light switches wired in series -- why? magnolia Electrical 2 05-11-2008 12:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts