Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-04-2011, 08:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

light switch wiring question.


I am installing a porch light on the wife's garden shed. I already have ceiling lights and a single switch for them beside the door. I have done some wiring before but do not understand what the "electricians" did on ceiling light job. The switch is in the middle of the run. It has 2 black wires attatched to it. I know one is the feed to the switch and the other goes from the switch to the ceiling lights. There are no white(nuetral) wires or ground wire. I can run the EMT and pull one black #12 to the new porch light, but how do i hook up the new (additional) switch? Do i need to pull a nuetral and ground also? Can i just take a short piece of #12 and connect to the hot feed wire and then connect to the new switch? I can hook all this up, i just not sure which is the best and safest way. Sorry this is so long. Any help is appreciated. Thanks

dannat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 09:50 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,394
Default

light switch wiring question.


Sounds like the shed might be wired with conduit. If that is the case then you only pull the wires you need into the conduit. The white doesn't need to go to the switch only the hots.
For your new light you would add a new black wire for the new light and pull power from the wire that is feeding the existing switch. You will need find the neutral for the light. It will be at the current fixture.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 05-05-2011 at 07:21 AM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 01:44 AM   #3
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

light switch wiring question.


so this is all in conduit? The conduit if properly done can be used as the ground, but you MUST still have a neutral. And unless I miss my guess from what you are describing sounds like they are using the pipe as a return path(neutral)
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 08:48 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
Default

light switch wiring question.


Yes, everything is in metal conduit. So i need to pull just black hot wire for new light and just jump small piece of wire from one switch to the other. And i need to pull a neutral for existing fixture and new fixture? I hope i havent clouded the issue even more. Thanks for everyone's help. I love this electrical stuff.
dannat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 09:11 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,411
Default

light switch wiring question.


The fixtures will need a neutral in order to operate. The neutrals will not need to be run to the switches since you have conduit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hi, new here and have a question about light switch in bathrooms Tazznum1 Electrical 2 01-26-2011 08:31 AM
Dimmer switch wiring question joez148 Electrical 2 07-15-2010 10:49 AM
wiring in line light switch on power cord basicbrand Electrical 4 12-08-2009 09:36 AM
wiring an existing light to a new exhaust fan with one switch konroy Electrical 1 04-28-2009 11:37 AM
Electrical Question - adding a 3 way switch to existing Light Marcus23 Electrical 5 10-11-2008 08:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.