Light Switch Too High - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2011, 01:56 PM   #1
Member
 
hohadcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 256
Default

light switch too high


Hi, it is an old house, there is a light switch on the wall that is 8ft above the floor... too high to reach.

If i can find a pull switch like the one in the pic, i can then the switch verdically lower for people to reach.

But where can I get a pull swtich? doesn't need to be fancy. HD doesn't carry any pull swtichs. Amazon.com doesn't have any....

Anyone knows?
Attached Thumbnails
light switch too high-lizard.jpg  

Advertisement


Last edited by hohadcr; 10-28-2011 at 02:06 PM.
hohadcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 02:59 PM   #2
mem
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 226
Rewards Points: 154
Default

light switch too high


I've never seen a switch like that, but then again, I don't get out much. More curiously tho, why in the world is that switch 8 feet up? ...does it control the light in that room or something like an attic light?

Advertisement

mem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 04:20 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

light switch too high


Look in the lighting department or go to a lighting store. These are added to light fixtures. You can also get extension pull chains for things like ceiling fans. Those might clip onto that chain.

Note that if you move the entire switch down, you could probably install a regular light switch.

(I say probably because there may be some reason that is like that???)
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Billy_Bob For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (10-28-2011)
Old 10-28-2011, 06:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,710
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

light switch too high


Quote:
Originally Posted by hohadcr View Post
Hi, it is an old house, there is a light switch on the wall that is 8ft above the floor... too high to reach.

If i can find a pull switch like the one in the pic, i can then the switch verdically lower for people to reach.

But where can I get a pull swtich? doesn't need to be fancy. HD doesn't carry any pull swtichs. Amazon.com doesn't have any....

Anyone knows?
You should be able to get chain like that and a joiner
like the one in the picture, from a cheap jewelery store.
You can then just extend the existing chain.
That way you dont have to change the existing switch.
Easy as !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 08:22 PM   #5
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,301
Rewards Points: 3,242
Default

light switch too high


Billy Bob nailed it----after you get the switch---look at the cover plates---you will find one with a small hole in it---the switch should go right in.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 01:33 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: KC Metro
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

light switch too high


That is pretty common in early 20th century victorian homes, at least around here. I would use that as a junction box and drop a new switch down to a comfortable height. We have to install them at max height of 48" to meet ADA.
Sine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 07:25 PM   #7
Member
 
hohadcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 256
Default

light switch too high


Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_Bob
Look in the lighting department or go to a lighting store. These are added to light fixtures. You can also get extension pull chains for things like ceiling fans. Those might clip onto that chain.

Note that if you move the entire switch down, you could probably install a regular light switch.

(I say probably because there may be some reason that is like that???)

not sure if i asked the question right.

im hoping to find a pull switch to put in the current high switch box, w/o actually moving the box.

light stored?
hohadcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 07:36 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 264
Rewards Points: 258
Default

light switch too high


Would this work? - Note the switch rating may be a little low.

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053
tribe_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 10:12 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

light switch too high


Quote:
Originally Posted by hohadcr View Post
not sure if i asked the question right.

im hoping to find a pull switch to put in the current high switch box, w/o actually moving the box.

light stored?
So you have a regular "flip switch" up high. And you want to replace that with a pull switch?

If that is correct, then the switch/wall plate in the links above will work.

Or you can get any "blank" wall plate, then go to a "machine shop", take the switch, and they can drill the right size hole for it. (Or ask a friend, whatever...)

Again you can get these pull switches in the lighting department of a home improvement store.

Blank wall plates (no holes) are in the electrical department as are wall plates with holes in them like above.

Longer chains in the lighting department.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 07:57 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Freeport Maine
Posts: 484
Rewards Points: 250
Default

light switch too high


Just curious,....Do you know what this switch does? If not, could this be a shut off for the heating system? A lot of homes have the furnace shut off high on the wall near the door to the basement/utility room. Often with a red switch...sometimes lit...

Can you post a picture?
__________________
That's just my opinion. But it's free, so take it for what it's worth to you.
1910NE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 03:09 PM   #11
Member
 
hohadcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 256
Default

light switch too high


Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_Bob View Post
So you have a regular "flip switch" up high. And you want to replace that with a pull switch?
Exactly!! That is my question.

The pull switch would work , but i have a hard time imagining how to stabilize it in the switch box and with the face plate. anyone can help me?

To 1910NE, I once opened the wall and saw the wiring. So, yes, i am sure that the switch only controls a ceiling fan and the light under it.

thanks all

Advertisement


Last edited by hohadcr; 10-31-2011 at 05:15 PM.
hohadcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blown Light Switch ogrenjr Electrical 3 03-01-2010 04:42 PM
Light switch failure help!! metalrex Electrical 22 02-04-2010 10:13 PM
Add new light and switch to a switch loop UncertainSparky Electrical 4 01-24-2010 09:58 AM
Problem changing light switch grgryl Electrical 14 08-10-2008 02:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts