Light Switch Timer.... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2014, 04:20 PM   #1
Hell of a fella
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Central PA
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 27
Default

Light switch timer....


Looking at a light switch with a timer built in to replace a single pole switch in my basement entry way. It is on one of 2 remaining K&T circuits in my home. Switch box has 2 wires running into it...but the new switch looks to have 4 wires (red, black, white, green). Would this be possible?

Advertisement

DrumBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 04:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 3,197
Rewards Points: 3,354
Default

Light switch timer....


Looks like your timer needs a neutral,
which your switch loop does not have !

sorry !

Advertisement

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
DrumBum (12-09-2014)
Old 12-09-2014, 04:32 PM   #3
Hell of a fella
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Central PA
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 27
Default

Light switch timer....


I figured. It seems that the previous owner of this home took the time to tear out the plaster and hang drywall in that entry way but never updated the wiring....kind of dumb if you ask me...

Maybe another time...these timers look pretty nifty to me
DrumBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 04:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 30,075
Rewards Points: 5,256
Default

Light switch timer....


Need to get rid of all that old K&T ASAP.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 04:35 PM   #5
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,870
Rewards Points: 2,414
Default

Light switch timer....


Quote:
Originally Posted by DrumBum View Post
Maybe another time...these timers look pretty nifty to me
Return it.
Get a standard spring loaded switch
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 04:44 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 3,197
Rewards Points: 3,354
Default

Light switch timer....


Have a look around
you may be able to find a timer that does not need a neutral
They make occupancy sensors that don't need a neutral
So maybe there's a timer likewise ?
ring some electrical supply houses

Advertisement

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 52 11-05-2014 04:28 PM
Hot wires on both sides of switch RedRumLoki Electrical 4 11-20-2012 09:37 PM
Replace bathroom light switch with dimmer switch ToddD Electrical 11 05-06-2012 05:58 PM
2 Wires in to light, 3 Wires out, no juice on the switch prytoo Electrical 4 11-28-2011 05:24 PM
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-08-2011 11:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts