Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-15-2011, 05:32 AM   #1
Member
 
SimpleJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 30
Share |
Default

Light switch - Taping into ground wire ok?


I changed the light switch in the spare bedroom and notice there is no ground wire connected to the old light switch and ofcourse the new switch has a place to hook up a ground, but I have no ground wire to use.
If you look in the hole in this picture you can see a ground wire that is 2 grounds with a twist nut on it.
Can I use a small peice of ground wire and wire nut it in with the rest of those wires and connect it to my light switch?


Uploaded with ImageShack.us

SimpleJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 05:51 AM   #2
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Default

Light switch - Taping into ground wire ok?


yes that is fine

NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 07:04 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Default

Light switch - Taping into ground wire ok?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SimpleJack View Post
... the new switch has a place to hook up a ground, but I have no ground wire to use.
If you look in the hole in this picture you can see a ground wire that is 2 grounds with a twist nut on it.
Can I use a small peice of ground wire (pigtail} and wire nut it in with the rest of those wires and connect it to my light switch (green screw)?]
This is standard procedure.
Reminder:
Bundles of ground wires also need wire nuts, just twisting is not good enough these days.
Use pigtails in the fashion described here whenever two or more wires want to go under one screw.
If the box is metal, a ground wire, possibly a second pigtail, must be attached to the box, or a clip (sold separately for the purpose) inserted where the switch mounting tab (yoke) is attached to the box.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-15-2011 at 07:06 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 50 09-01-2009 08:20 PM
HELP! Please. how to wire a light, switch, then outlet dcwright Electrical 6 07-06-2009 07:51 PM
Bedrooms have no ceiling light, light switch controls one electrical outlet? notenoughtime Electrical 16 05-25-2009 12:09 AM
Installing light fixture.....ground wire? yummy mummy Electrical 15 02-19-2009 11:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.