Light Switch - Taping Into Ground Wire Ok? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2011, 06:32 AM   #1
Member
 
SimpleJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Light switch - Taping into ground wire ok?


I changed the light switch in the spare bedroom and notice there is no ground wire connected to the old light switch and ofcourse the new switch has a place to hook up a ground, but I have no ground wire to use.
If you look in the hole in this picture you can see a ground wire that is 2 grounds with a twist nut on it.
Can I use a small peice of ground wire and wire nut it in with the rest of those wires and connect it to my light switch?


Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Advertisement

SimpleJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 06:51 AM   #2
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Light switch - Taping into ground wire ok?


yes that is fine

Advertisement

NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 08:04 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Light switch - Taping into ground wire ok?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SimpleJack View Post
... the new switch has a place to hook up a ground, but I have no ground wire to use.
If you look in the hole in this picture you can see a ground wire that is 2 grounds with a twist nut on it.
Can I use a small peice of ground wire (pigtail} and wire nut it in with the rest of those wires and connect it to my light switch (green screw)?]
This is standard procedure.
Reminder:
Bundles of ground wires also need wire nuts, just twisting is not good enough these days.
Use pigtails in the fashion described here whenever two or more wires want to go under one screw.
If the box is metal, a ground wire, possibly a second pigtail, must be attached to the box, or a clip (sold separately for the purpose) inserted where the switch mounting tab (yoke) is attached to the box.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-15-2011 at 08:06 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 52 11-05-2014 05:28 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM
HELP! Please. how to wire a light, switch, then outlet dcwright Electrical 6 07-06-2009 08:51 PM
Bedrooms have no ceiling light, light switch controls one electrical outlet? notenoughtime Electrical 16 05-25-2009 01:09 AM
Installing light fixture.....ground wire? yummy mummy Electrical 15 02-19-2009 12:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts