Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-01-2011, 11:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

light switch for pool lights


I think my switch for pool lights is no good. I was told that I coud hook up a 3 way switch to check if it is just the switch. How do I hook up the wires to the 3 way switch?

Miss_ Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 12:43 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

light switch for pool lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Miss_ Terry View Post
I think my switch for pool lights is no good. I was told that I coud hook up a 3 way switch to check if it is just the switch. How do I hook up the wires to the 3 way switch?
For your pool lights this more likely it will have either GFCI breaker or receptale one of the two before you do anything with switch first find the GFCI breaker or receptatle { there is a mantory code requirement for pool light to be GFCI protected }

Now if you have three way switch the toggle switch style will have no " on " or "off" marking and if you have single pole switch it will say " ON " or 'OFF" marking { the decora or rocker switch will not have the marking on them in most case }

Now before you can use the three way switch for tempory you can use common ( dark colour screw ) and one of the two bright brass screw but again check the GFCI as I mention above and do your pool lights are wired for 120 volts or low voltage like 12 volts ?? If latter then a good chance the transformer either smoked or other issue with connection on pool area.

And I will advise you if the switch do not slove the issue then I am Très sérieux {Very serious } that you get the electrician to troubleshooting the pool electrical system espcally with pool luminaire { there is not much leeway to work around anyway }

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless Light Switch? harding13 Electrical 12 06-09-2011 07:59 AM
Ceiling Fan with Light kit - Light not working aadams Electrical 12 11-03-2010 06:32 PM
adding second light from a switch agsurfer Electrical 3 09-10-2010 12:01 PM
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 50 09-01-2009 08:20 PM
installed recessed lights but now switch does not work auggie77 Electrical 2 08-02-2009 10:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.