Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-27-2012, 12:33 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Share |
Default

light switch/outlet combo, load issue


I checked the voltage of incoming hot to the switch box and wire going to the light. With small load, voltage holds steady at 123.4V or 123.5V. With load, voltage fluctuates between 123.1 and 123.5, the small fluctuating seems to match the rate of light flashing.

xiea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 12:49 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 90
Default

light switch/outlet combo, load issue


If this is florescent I would try another bulb. That is a tiny variation, my voltage fluctuate that much and more all the time and nothing flashes.
bill01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 01:15 PM   #18
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

light switch/outlet combo, load issue


You will need something other than a meter to see these voltage fluctuation because a meter doesn't respond fast enough; an oscilloscope would.
The device isn't the problem. The switch doesn't know about the receptacle and the receptacle doesn't know about the switch.

The problem is resistance on either the hot or neutral before this switch/receptacle device.
Attached Thumbnails
light switch/outlet combo, load issue-combo-device.jpg  
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 04:35 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Default

light switch/outlet combo, load issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
You will need something other than a meter to see these voltage fluctuation because a meter doesn't respond fast enough; an oscilloscope would.
The device isn't the problem. The switch doesn't know about the receptacle and the receptacle doesn't know about the switch.

The problem is resistance on either the hot or neutral before this switch/receptacle device.
When you say device isn't the problem, are you referring to the switch/outlet combo not a problem? So I don't need to bother replacing it?

The only wiring I did is the neutral by attaching a pigtail wire to the existing wire nut that holds the other white wires together.
xiea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 04:50 PM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,747
Default

light switch/outlet combo, load issue


Make sure that you have a good connection on that pigtail.
Pull the wire and see if you can pull it from under the wirenut.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 07:19 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Default

light switch/outlet combo, load issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Make sure that you have a good connection on that pigtail.
Pull the wire and see if you can pull it from under the wirenut.
I checked neutral and it's wired tight.
xiea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 07:33 PM   #22
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,747
Default

light switch/outlet combo, load issue


I think it may be time for some pics.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 07:25 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Default

light switch/outlet combo, load issue


I replaced the switch/outlet combo to eliminate another possibility. Problem is still there. I plugged a hair dryer into the outlet and the light dims (not flickering), The higher the hair dryer setting, the dimmer the light becomes. Not sure what to do next.
xiea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 07:26 PM   #24
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

light switch/outlet combo, load issue


Do the lights stay dim the entire time the hairdryer is on?
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 07:52 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Default

light switch/outlet combo, load issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Do the lights stay dim the entire time the hairdryer is on?
Yes, the lights stay dim at the same level. Low setting on the hairdryer causes a slight dim to the lights and it will stay that way unless I either turn the hair dryer off and lights return to normal or if I turn the hair dryer to a higher setting then the lights dim some more.
xiea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 07:56 PM   #26
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

light switch/outlet combo, load issue


Do you have a second hairdryer to try?
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 08:06 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Default

light switch/outlet combo, load issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Do you have a second hairdryer to try?
I only used a hair dryer as a secondary test. The original problem I encountered is plugging in a 660W appliance and when it's on standby there are no issues, when appliance starts, the lights flicker until appliance goes into standby mode again. I don't think hair dryer is the issue.
xiea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 08:12 PM   #28
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

light switch/outlet combo, load issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by xiea View Post
When you say device isn't the problem, are you referring to the switch/outlet combo not a problem? So I don't need to bother replacing it?
This is correct
Quote:
Originally Posted by xiea View Post
I replaced the switch/outlet combo to eliminate another possibility. Problem is still there.
So you found out...

Your voltage drop is somewhere before this.
This appliance you mentioned, does it have any type of motor?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 08:15 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Default

light switch/outlet combo, load issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
This is correct

So you found out...

Your voltage drop is somewhere before this.
This appliance you mentioned, does it have any type of motor?

Appliance has a heating element and possibly motor, not sure. I also tested plugging in hair dryer. Result was lights dimmed proportionally to the power setting on the hair dryer.
xiea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 08:19 PM   #30
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

light switch/outlet combo, load issue


Plug these items into a separate lighting circuit. Into a living room outlet or a different bedroom outlet, not the kitchen counter top outlets, bathroom outlets, or dining room outlets.

Turn on all the lights in the house and see if this happens on other circuits as well.

k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
load, switch plug combo, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ceiling fan light issue after replacing electrical panel texan206 Electrical 3 04-21-2012 11:33 PM
Ceiling Fan And Light Combo alphyone Electrical 1 05-20-2011 03:34 PM
Whirlpool Microwave light issue mustangcobra44 Appliances 8 08-14-2008 03:52 PM
replacing vanity light...issue with outlet box? tarheelblue Electrical 5 01-28-2008 09:20 AM
Light fixture issue baustin Electrical 4 07-17-2007 04:01 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.