Light Switch Failure Help!! - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2010, 05:55 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 422
Rewards Points: 256
Default

Light switch failure help!!


Didn't think of neutrals and grounds bonded together in the fan.rex did not mean energized when he said hot he meant they go to the fixture. He has no meter.

Advertisement

daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 06:34 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Light switch failure help!!


I picked up a Greenlee electrical kit on my way home. Ill test the wires now.
metalrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 07:23 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Light switch failure help!!


b to c and g to f with all grounds together give me power to the outlet!
metalrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 07:33 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Light switch failure help!!


I'm not getting voltage out of a. My guess ia B powers all. So I'll twist whiyes together, all the blacks and use the remaining wire fof the switches.
metalrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 07:53 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 422
Rewards Points: 256
Default

Light switch failure help!!


Before you put anything together take your meter and look for a short between white wire E and the bare copper wire in that same bundle
daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 08:00 PM   #21
Glad To Be Here
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Light switch failure help!!


Metalrex, are you installing just common toggle type single pole switches for both the light and the fan?
Pro_DYIer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 09:55 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Light switch failure help!!


I got it running. Im using a basic toggle switch for the light only. I attached B&C a spare wire, and a black wire from the fan switch. I attached a black end of the toggle switch to the spare wire and the other to the red wire. the other black wire of the fan switch went to A. Everything works now! Thanks, guys.
metalrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 10:13 PM   #23
Glad To Be Here
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Light switch failure help!!


Glad it worked out for you.

Advertisement

Pro_DYIer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP.. trouble adding light to single pole switch RickDel Electrical 13 09-09-2009 11:18 PM
Motion Light tripping GFCI? Jonobp Electrical 5 09-07-2009 08:52 PM
Confused by switch w/indicator light install... WaldenL Electrical 7 08-29-2009 10:02 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 08:11 AM
no power going to the light switch baseballfan Electrical 18 09-08-2008 06:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts