Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2013, 10:51 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Light switch


I had 2 switches in the hallway - 1 for the hallway light and 1 for the outside security lights. I removed the light in the hallway and replaced it with one on the stairwell as there wasn't one. When everything was working I noticed that the downstairs bathroom (adjacent to the hallway) light only works when the outside security light is on. The light on the stairwell is operated by 2 switches (upstairs and down). What have I done wrong? Help please!

york1181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:44 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Light switch


Did you only removed the fixtures or did you open the switches and disconnected wires. Also did you replaced the stairs fixture with another or not.

RAUL HIDALGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:17 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Light switch


Thanks for the quick response Raul. I disconnected the wiring because I was also fitting 2 new switches (slightly more modern). The light fitting on the stairs is brand new as there was no light on the stairwell to begin with.
york1181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Light switch


On the switch controling the outside light?...Are there more than two wires on it? I suspect there is a feed that comes off of that and goes to the bathroom light. You may have inadvertantly hooked it to the switched side of the switch instead of the always hot side.
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 06:04 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Light switch


Thanks danpik. I don't have a lot of light out there at the moment, so I'll leave it till the morning and have a closer look. Let you know what happens.
york1181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 04:39 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Light switch


danpik, thanks very much for the suggestion. I checked the switches out this morning and it turns out that the bathroom light was taken from the hallway light. Good job I hadn't removed that one completely! Needed to add a new switch for the hallway, but now everythings working fine. Thanks again.

york1181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Hot wires on both sides of switch RedRumLoki Electrical 4 11-20-2012 09:37 PM
Replace bathroom light switch with dimmer switch ToddD Electrical 11 05-06-2012 05:58 PM
Motion Light tripping GFCI? Jonobp Electrical 5 09-07-2009 07:52 PM
Confused by switch w/indicator light install... WaldenL Electrical 7 08-29-2009 09:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.