Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2011, 07:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

light switch


2 yrs ago my electrician installed illuminated light switch. today the switch(not the bulb in the closet it is attached to) started to flicker.
what is the problem?

makary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 08:13 PM   #2
Member
 
jburd964's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 0
Default

light switch


It could be a problem depending on if it's only the illumination of switch? Are is it also effecting the lighting as well? Does the switch make any noise are does the lighting seem effected by flickers are pause when turned on. If it's only the switch lighting that no big deal other than you wanted it lit. The light in switch is a low voltage led that has bad connection. But if it affecting the lights it could be a really big deal. Not knowing your skill level either way you may need to have switch replaced.

I did stay at Holiday Inn Express last night.

__________________
Gun control isn't about guns, IT'S ABOUT CONTROL.
jburd964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 07:36 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

light switch


thanks. it is only the illumination on the switch. the light is not affected.
i will get it switched out.
no sound from the switch.
makary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 07:44 PM   #4
rdhd
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by makary View Post
2 yrs ago my electrician installed illuminated light switch. today the switch(not the bulb in the closet it is attached to) started to flicker.
what is the problem?
Check to make certain that certain that your house is not wired with aluminum wiring. Aluminum wiring needs aluminum rated switches and fixtures.

You can NOT mix aluminum and copper wiring unless certain criteria are met.

Contact your local Licenced Electrical Contractor if you suspect that there may be a mixture of the two.
rdhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 09:44 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

light switch


my electrician is out of the country for a few weeks.
i will have him check it out when he returns. i just wanted to make sure something like this could wait a few weeks.

its all new wiring.
makary is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
HELP.. trouble adding light to single pole switch RickDel Electrical 13 09-09-2009 10:18 PM
Motion Light tripping GFCI? Jonobp Electrical 5 09-07-2009 07:52 PM
Confused by switch w/indicator light install... WaldenL Electrical 7 08-29-2009 09:02 AM
no power going to the light switch baseballfan Electrical 18 09-08-2008 05:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.