Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2007, 02:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Light Stopped Working


We have a light in our bedroom that just stopped working. We replaced the bulb and still nothing. There's no loose wires to the switch. There's no blown circuit. How can I figure out what's wrong? I have a voltometer and there's power to the switch. Could it be something as simple as needing a new switch? I don't know very much about wiring and I've spent hours trying to figure out what's wrong. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

gershon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 02:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

Light Stopped Working


it could be the light fixture need to be replaced... if you can use tester to test the wire at the light fixture ... if it has power... then it is indeed your light fixture is a goner...

KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 02:54 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Light Stopped Working


Thanks, I tested the light fixture. There's no power to it.
gershon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 02:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

Light Stopped Working


then you can tested the the wires at the switch... the two wire connectted to the switch, one is income, test the outcome, see if it is on and off according to the switch position, hope you tested the switch is a goner... otherwise, you have a bigger problem...
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 03:04 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 21
Default

Light Stopped Working


I have ran into a lot of fixtures that were overlamped and actually burned wires off underneath the fixture. Make sure power is off and remove fixture to check condition of wires. (If you have already eliminated the switch)
terrynistler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 08:03 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

Light Stopped Working


How did you check power at the switch? Hot to ground, or hot to neutral?

Possibly there is an open neutral ahead of this on the circuit. You will read normal voltage to ground but not to neutral.
If the switch is just a switch loop you will never find it at the switch box.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Halogen motion sensor light stopped working, Incandescent still works keyser soze Electrical 6 05-29-2007 08:53 PM
Light switch not working! jtbel Electrical 4 12-09-2006 06:34 PM
Ice maker stopped working bragl01 Appliances 3 08-07-2006 08:59 PM
Hot Light Outlets Materials Guru Electrical 5 07-31-2006 07:11 PM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 06:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.