Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2013, 10:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Light in house not working


We just bought this house and the light right outside out master bedroom does not work. During home inspection it was noted to be wired just does not have power. A family member came over and noted we have two switches that have continuity between them and stated they both work that light. One of the switches is in the same wall plate as two other switches. His words were to bridge power coming to one of the other switches to that switch and then it would fix the light. This just raises questions for me. Is that the right way to fix the light? If not what is the best procedure? Thanks for your help in advance. House was built in 2001. Any other info needed just let me know.

mjwiseman07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:43 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,554
Rewards Points: 2,016
Default

Light in house not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by mjwiseman07 View Post
One of the switches is in the same wall plate as two other switches. His words were to bridge power coming to one of the other switches to that switch and then it would fix the light. This just raises questions for me. Is that the right way to fix the light? If not what is the best procedure? Thanks for your help in advance. House was built in 2001. Any other info needed just let me know.
"one of the switches", "other two switches", "one of the other switches to that switch". Does not compute.

Even though in your mind you know what is meant by that switch and the other switch and one switch, there is no way a layman can know which switch you are referring to.

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:34 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 419
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Light in house not working


Assuming the light worked at one time, you need to find where the original power feed for that light is. Did power go to the light first or the switch? Sounds like you have a three way switch arrangement. What colour wires, and how are they connected at the light and the two switches with continuity? What type of testing equipment do you have?
daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:43 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Light in house not working


Thanks for the request for clarity. I am new to house electrical so I will do my best. Essentially I just want to make sure what my family member is saying to do is right? It may be but just raises questions with me. When you walk out of my master bedroom directly above you is the light that is nonfunctional. To give you the layout of the area when you walk out of the master there is a wall to the right and a wall directly in front of you. The wall to the right has a single light switch on it that should work the light (non functional light refered to above) right out side of the master and does not. To hopefully make things easier I will call that switch #1 going forward. The wall right in front of you on the opposite side of that wall has a switch plate that contains three light switches. One works the kitchen lights, the other works the living room lights and the last one does nothing and I will refer to that as switch #2. My family member used my meter and tested continutity between #1 and #2 and they had continuity. So then he says since #2 is in a wall palte with other switches he will bridge power from either the switch for the kitchen or the living room and that would fix the problem. The bridging part is what concerns me, now this may be a normal fix but I wanted to look into before I said okay. I hope this helps! Thanks again for the help if you can make sense of this tried to explain it the best i could.

Last edited by mjwiseman07; 03-13-2013 at 09:02 AM.
mjwiseman07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:46 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Light in house not working


Thansk for the response as soon as I get home daveb1 I will check on what you asked.Thanks
mjwiseman07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 03:24 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Light in house not working


I fixed it myself, I just got back in town and was able to see what he was doing and it was wrong. I got a three way switch, I powered through the switch and light now works with no problem. Appreciate the help!

mjwiseman07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird wiring in house fdmillion Electrical 13 06-14-2013 06:49 PM
Hot wires on both sides of switch RedRumLoki Electrical 4 11-20-2012 09:37 PM
Trying to install a new ceiling light in an old house Yikes Electrical 2 07-25-2010 11:49 PM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 05:42 PM
Light switch not working! jtbel Electrical 4 12-09-2006 06:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.