Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2013, 03:24 PM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: So. Central PA
Posts: 97
Share |
Default

Light flickering/diming problem


OP, how old is your house? You indicate it originally had a 100A panel, so either it's a tiny matchbox size house, or it's a "normal" sized house, just old.

My house, made in 1960, also has what appears to be a 100A panel. No main breaker, just a 50A "lights/plugs" and a 50A for the oven. A 30A dryer breaker and a double pole 20A for electric BB heater were added later on.

My lights also dim slightly when a window AC unit kicks on, I run the vacuum, microwave kicks on, etc. It's a function of how the house was initially wired up, the circuit map, not the amount of amps into the panel.

In other words, I could have a panel with 300 amps, but my lights on the kitchen circuit are still going to dim when the dryer kicks on due to the fact that circuit is maxed out.

Back in 1960 houses werent wired with consideration to playstations, laptop chargers, microwaves, multiple TVs, clock radios, computers, cable boxes, DVD players, etc. etc. being plugged in all over the house, LOL.

Chokingdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 08:59 AM   #47
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 20
Default

Light flickering/diming problem


PECO technician came and upgraded the transformer from 10kw to 25kw.
but it still dims when a/c kicks off. they measured the voltage coming into the house and it's 240v, saying it's way above the regular voltage. what's the regular voltage anyway? 230?

it seems to be a real incurable disease now. wow
what else can we do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chokingdogs View Post
OP, how old is your house? You indicate it originally had a 100A panel, so either it's a tiny matchbox size house, or it's a "normal" sized house, just old.

My house, made in 1960, also has what appears to be a 100A panel. No main breaker, just a 50A "lights/plugs" and a 50A for the oven. A 30A dryer breaker and a double pole 20A for electric BB heater were added later on.

My lights also dim slightly when a window AC unit kicks on, I run the vacuum, microwave kicks on, etc. It's a function of how the house was initially wired up, the circuit map, not the amount of amps into the panel.

In other words, I could have a panel with 300 amps, but my lights on the kitchen circuit are still going to dim when the dryer kicks on due to the fact that circuit is maxed out.

Back in 1960 houses werent wired with consideration to playstations, laptop chargers, microwaves, multiple TVs, clock radios, computers, cable boxes, DVD players, etc. etc. being plugged in all over the house, LOL.

martingale2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ceiling fan light 3 way wiring problem Aurora64 Electrical 0 11-18-2012 08:19 AM
Don't understand this breaker tripping problem majesticjess Electrical 10 03-05-2010 06:42 PM
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 50 09-01-2009 08:20 PM
Another motion sensing light problem Steelhead Electrical 6 12-24-2008 09:50 AM
Weird Problem with new light.... MRTOWNDRO Electrical 8 12-21-2008 04:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.