Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-31-2012, 01:14 AM   #1

Share |

Light Fixture With Multiple Wires

My wife and I bought a 1973 manufactured home and I've changed many outlets already. I'll have many questions as the days go by.

I am a total noobie!

I'm in the process of replacing our kitchen ceiling light which has a total of 9 wires. There are 4 whites, 4 black and 4 ground wires that are connected as 1 (no wire nut). Not a single wire. When I took the old light fixture off, there was 3 whites connected to 1 wire and 1 black connected to the other wire. Of course the ground wire was not connected and looked like it was snipped shorter. I knew this was not a good idea (I think?). The other 4 were wired in 1 nut (3 black, 1 white).

My new fixture has 2 black and 2 white wires. I read I should have an electrician put in new wires. I've also read to bunch all the whites with a wire nut. Same for the black wires. Should I call an electrician?

Thanks for any help.

Rick
Hippy007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 02:52 AM   #2

Call an electrician if you can't remember which wires were which.

You said when you took the old light off there were 3 white connected to one wire (from the old light fixture).
Take these same three white, and take the two white from the new
fixture and wire nut together. That's 5 white.

You said when you took the old light off there was 1 black connected
to the other wire ( from the old light fixture).
Take that same black and take the two black from the new fixture and wire nut them together. That's 3 black.

You said when you took the old light down there were 3 black and 1 white connected together. Leave these the same.