Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-23-2008, 10:30 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

liability

This is kind of a hypothetical question.....
but lets say a homeowner does something like a remodel or a basement finish and does the electrical work himself, assuming some new wiring or rearrangement of existing wiring. Everything is permitted, and inspected, and passes without problem.

Now a few years down the road maybe the house is even sold, and there is a problem or possibly a fire. Can the DIY homeowner be held responsible if it is deemed to be electrical in nature, even located in the remodel area? Or does the permit/inspection process approve the work and take the liability off the owner?

mbaker76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 11:24 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

liability

I'm no attorney...

But I am a codes inspector. I've been to court a time or two, but never on a DIY project. If a problem can be related to work that was performed in a home, such as an electrical fire that is proven to be due to faulty or incorrect installation, liability can be placed on professionals or DIYers that did the work. Normally this would come up on an insurance claim...You do the work, do it wrong and cause a problem, and they deny the claim for damage due to faulty work that doesn't meet code.