Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-21-2009, 01:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Share |
Default

lenght of run/awg size


I put an addition on an out house of mine and I am running 14 awg UF to it so I can get some lights and what not. It is about a 150 foot run back to the panel. I know 14 awg is rated for 15 amps, but for how long of a run...I want to know if I can run power tools off this line?

TBFghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 01:29 PM   #2
Member
 
BCSparkyGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 63
Default

lenght of run/awg size


Quote:
Originally Posted by TBFghost View Post
I put an addition on an out house of mine and I am running 14 awg UF to it so I can get some lights and what not. It is about a 150 foot run back to the panel. I know 14 awg is rated for 15 amps, but for how long of a run...I want to know if I can run power tools off this line?

I don't know where you are writing form, I know the CEC had a table I can calculate this out for you exactly, but if you are in the US, the I dont' know what the NEC req are. I would probably run a #12 to be safe, only saying this cause I am on vacation and away from my code book.......

BCSparkyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 01:45 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

lenght of run/awg size


It's not worth running #14 for a run like this, let alone for 150'.

No, IMO #14 is not enough to run power tools, especially something like a 15A saw, for a distance like that.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 02:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

lenght of run/awg size


I also am away from my code book, but i would suggest just going with a 12awg to be safe. Remember it's always better to be safe than sorry.
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 02:52 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

lenght of run/awg size


Quote:
I want to know if I can run power tools off this line?
Not really.



Skillsaw, no.

3/8 drill, yes

Compressor, no

Battery charger, yes
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 03:19 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

lenght of run/awg size


Quote:
Originally Posted by TBFghost View Post
It is about a 150 foot run back to the panel. I know 14 awg is rated for 15 amps, but for how long of a run
15A, 5% drop @ 120v, #14 AWG copper, max length = 77'.
", ", #12 AWG copper, max length = 125'.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 08-21-2009 at 03:28 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 03:34 PM   #7
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,502
Default

lenght of run/awg size


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Not really.
I agree with 220/221 that the Yes/No answer depends on the load.

The total 14 AWG conductor length resistance with my table comes out to .773 Ohms.
This number by itself doesn't look scary, but at 120V a 15 Amp load will cause an IR drop of 11.6 Volts. Looking at a 10% IR line drop at 120V still doesn't look particularly scary, but TBF needs to look at the power equation.

The Power delivered is E
/R.
If TBF connects a 15 Amp load the Power is cut by 20%

Note: the voltage drop is over the total conductor length which in this case is 300'
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery

Last edited by PaliBob; 08-21-2009 at 03:37 PM. Reason: Added Note
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 07:17 PM   #8
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,592
Default

lenght of run/awg size


For 150', I'd run at least a 12/2, better yet, a 10/2.

A 12/3 or 10/3 would be even better, that way the loads (lights/receptacles) could be split among two circuits.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 12:09 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

lenght of run/awg size


Is this truly an "out house" or an out house? If its an out house where you crap in it. You may want to go big enough for heat and a light.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 12:38 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

lenght of run/awg size


For 75 C conductor temp. you may want to reduce my lengths by 20%.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Size of whole house fan needed Doug Crf General DIY Discussions 20 02-25-2011 11:29 PM
pre-hung door, 32x80 is that door size or total size? RyanD Building & Construction 3 06-28-2009 10:33 PM
Room size X floor tile size deck hand Flooring 4 04-08-2009 04:42 PM
duct work size justmefixin HVAC 2 09-20-2008 06:59 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 05:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.