Is It Legal To Use Backstab + Screw At Same Time? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2011, 10:56 PM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

is it legal to use backstab + screw at same time?


I am wiring 4 outlets in a 4 bang box and have two circuits coming in and it's not a MWBC so I broke both tabs off 4 of the outlets. I realized it was physically impossible to wire this because of all the pig tails required. I ended up just making it one circuit and just striped enough wire so I can extend it under both screws. Then I started thinking, could I not just wire to a screw, then use backstab to go to the next outlet? Or is this a no no? I know backstabs are normally frowned upon and I normally don't use them, but this is a situation where I can see them being useful perhaps.

Advertisement

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 11:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

is it legal to use backstab + screw at same time?


I don't know of any code that would be violated.

Advertisement

hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 11:11 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,999
Rewards Points: 2,796
Default

is it legal to use backstab + screw at same time?


I think I would just run 4 pigtails of the incoming and install new receptacles. Much simpler.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 12:36 AM   #4
zpm
yeah, right
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 142
Rewards Points: 75
Default

is it legal to use backstab + screw at same time?


Is there some specific reason you need the top/bottom of each recept on a different circuit? Why don't you wire two recepts from circuit #1, and the other two recepts from circuit #2. You don't need any pigtails for that, just some jumpers.
__________________
Honey, does this tool belt make me look FAT?
zpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 01:04 AM   #5
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

is it legal to use backstab + screw at same time?


is it legal to use backstab + screw at same time? -YES ,but ....
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 11:27 AM   #6
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

is it legal to use backstab + screw at same time?


Quote:
Originally Posted by zpm View Post
Is there some specific reason you need the top/bottom of each recept on a different circuit? Why don't you wire two recepts from circuit #1, and the other two recepts from circuit #2. You don't need any pigtails for that, just some jumpers.
That's what I ended up doing, but thought of this after the fact, guess at the end I still accomplish the same thing and less hackish.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 01:22 PM   #7
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Rewards Points: 500
Default

is it legal to use backstab + screw at same time?


I'm curious what you are using the 4 outlets in a 4 gang box for?
__________________
Bill

A DIY Noob that knows just enough to be dangerous.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 01:33 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

is it legal to use backstab + screw at same time?


Only on 15 amp circuits

Advertisement

electricman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do screw heads really need to be mudded with three coats? KUIPORNG Remodeling 33 09-17-2011 02:54 AM
Wow, I got money coming beenthere Off Topic 12 01-21-2010 02:28 PM
Sheared head on Tapcon screw - how to remove? mkuether Remodeling 9 12-04-2008 09:18 PM
First time vinyl siding newbie plus windows justdon Remodeling 9 02-06-2008 07:39 PM
Ground screw in 4" box fw2007 Electrical 8 10-05-2007 04:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts