Legal To Have Subpanel In Garage? - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2009, 08:00 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Legal to have subpanel in garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gante View Post
What kind of panel do you guys recommend?. I probably would like to install a 200 Amp panel since I have to do the work anyways. Which panel is good for the price and would be easy to find parts for?

Thanks

The good brands are square d, cutler hammer, and general electric. I personally like square d and cutler hammer. Go for a 42 space panel.

Advertisement

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 09:42 PM   #32
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Legal to have subpanel in garage?


Cuttler Hammer CH
or
Square D QO series.

They make cheaper panels also. If you can afford the extra money the panels listed above are nice.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 12:30 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Legal to have subpanel in garage?


I have been looking into changing my main panel (possibly upgrade to 200Amp), new underground lines to the garage and new subpanel in garage but I may be looking at anywhere from $1500-$2000 cost. I am not sure if I could spend this much money at this time. Based on the pictures shown before would you classified this as a project that requires inmediate attention (safety hazard) or could it be delayed 9 to 12 months?
gante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 12:39 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Legal to have subpanel in garage?


If you are very careful about load (map out circuits, and make sure you are not overloading) the zinsco should be ok to keep for another 9-12 months. I would wait and see what other members think.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 03:06 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Legal to have subpanel in garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
If you are very careful about load (map out circuits, and make sure you are not overloading) the zinsco should be ok to keep for another 9-12 months. I would wait and see what other members think.

I don't believe overload would be an issue at my house. I do not have any unexpected loads or appliances. I have a dishwasher, washer, mircrowave, two TV (plasma), lights all over the house, and ocassional circular saw and drill in garage. I do not think this would be close to over loading a 100 amp circuit, right?
gante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 03:14 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Legal to have subpanel in garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gante View Post
I don't believe overload would be an issue at my house. I do not have any unexpected loads or appliances. I have a dishwasher, washer, mircrowave, two TV (plasma), lights all over the house, and ocassional circular saw and drill in garage. I do not think this would be close to over loading a 100 amp circuit, right?

What I mean is the single breakers. Make sure your not, lets say, plugging a plasma tv with a sound system that pulls a total of 10 amps with a space heater. Some 15 amp zinscos do not trip at 30 amps, or even at all.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 04:27 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Legal to have subpanel in garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
What I mean is the single breakers. Make sure your not, lets say, plugging a plasma tv with a sound system that pulls a total of 10 amps with a space heater. Some 15 amp zinscos do not trip at 30 amps, or even at all.

I get you now. Good advice. Thank you

Advertisement

gante is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 03:57 PM
Subpanel in detached garage gp_wa Electrical 6 10-07-2008 10:11 PM
Garage GFCI on Subpanel sweaty Electrical 2 09-20-2008 01:29 PM
Yet another garage subpanel thread (w/ pictures!) MattOverMinder Electrical 9 07-25-2008 03:15 PM
Subpanel Questions/Running electrical to garage. FlyGuy Electrical 28 05-24-2008 11:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts