Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2011, 09:31 AM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Share |
Default

Is it legal to double lug a fused cut off switch?


If I wanted to add a sub panel, would it be legal to just feed it off the fused cut off switch that feeds the main panel? I'm guessing no, but just checking. I may be digging my foundation and while I'm there I will run the conduit for my garage sub panel and run the appropriate wiring. Physically it will be easier to feed off the cut off switch, because of where I'd run the conduit, but if it's not legal then I will need to run it a slightly different way. The fuse is rated at 100 amps which is the service I have.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 10:12 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Is it legal to double lug a fused cut off switch?


If this disconnect is outside next to the meter panel and the garage is going to be unattached (you did not say) then you could extend the service. Some meters and disconnects have the ability to accept double lugs. If you do extend your service, it cannot pass through, over or under the main structure.

If you plan to run through the structure to an attached garage, you must follow the feeder rules we discuss here all the time.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 11:19 AM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Is it legal to double lug a fused cut off switch?


to all that reply; please note the squirrel resides in Canada. While a lot of their codes are similar, if not actually identical to the NEC, there are some great differences in other areas.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 12:46 PM   #4
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Is it legal to double lug a fused cut off switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
to all that reply; please note the squirrel resides in Canada...
Does that mean they are just visiting my yard on vacation? Can I charge them rent?

(Just kidding)
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 01:36 PM   #5
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Is it legal to double lug a fused cut off switch?


The garage is attached but I'd actually be doing the run outside. So from inside (either the panel, or the cut off) to outside, then into the garage. The cut off is indoors. Basically, the panel has no room to add a conduit to it because one side is occupied by the cut off itself (side by side) and the other side is all taken by wires, and so is the top. I have not checked the cut off to see if it's physically possible to even add two wires so I'll have to check that as well.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 04:28 PM   #6
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Is it legal to double lug a fused cut off switch?


when you say that you cant get another wire/pipe out of the panel, I find this hard to believe as we have a lot of tricks to do so. But I know your no spring chicken, but would you like to post a pic and we'll see if some obscure method wont help you?
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 07:46 PM   #7
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Is it legal to double lug a fused cut off switch?


This is an older pic but not much has changed other then that square box being gone. and that BX being fed from the top.



The bottom part of that panel is the access for the main lugs, and the side is full with wires. I do want to install a bigger panel, so am I better off just waiting and doing that then feeding it properly? The gas line also enters just above so the meter is there, which would be in the way, so it's easier if I run the conduit past the meter and to the other side. But that's minor details, I can try to figure a way to compromise so I can get the conduit to the right side of the panel. I know I can't turn more then 360* total so I have to keep that in mind.

Come to think of it, that doorbell transformer can go, though the hole is only like 1/2. I'm guessing I will need 1 inch conduit for a 100 amp service. Could I actually use my dremel to make the hole bigger? This would make the edges very sharp though, but guess the conduit itself would be entering so is it really an issue? I never connected a conduit to a panel before but I'm guessing it's a fitting I'd find at HD where the conduit stuff is?

Last edited by Red Squirrel; 05-02-2011 at 07:55 PM.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 10:12 PM   #8
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Is it legal to double lug a fused cut off switch?


2 things

1 ur right about the 360* but if u install a jbox u get another 360*

2 dont use a dremel tool use a hole saw, tho if u r made of money they make tools to do just that that make it a snap.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 11:38 AM   #9
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Is it legal to double lug a fused cut off switch?


Was thinking hole saw too, but would be awkward to get one in that angle. Want to be cutting from the inside and not the outside right? But if it's an approved method, I might do that. Good to know about being able to use a jbox to get another 360 as well. With these two things, that will make it possible for me to just feed off the panel instead. Any rules about how close a run can be to a gas line? I will be dangerously close but I just have to be careful while drilling. Once it's there it's there, no danger. I figure I might enter a foot or so away from the gas line. I'll use a LB to go down then turn a 90 into the panel. LBs need to be accessible like junction boxes right?
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 01:17 PM   #10
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Is it legal to double lug a fused cut off switch?


No rules about running next to the gas line. You're ok. LB cover has to be accessible like a J-box...correct.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 02:40 PM   #11
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Is it legal to double lug a fused cut off switch?


Cool I'm on the right path then, I will not double lug as I previously was thinking, but I'll just make a bigger hole in the panel and do it the right way. #2 copper for 100 amps is good? I know ground can be smaller but I suppose it does not hurt to oversize. I'll go to a local distributor for the wiring, probably cheaper then HD. I've never dealt with main feeders before, do I need to actually crimp lugs on the wires or does it insert like smaller breakers?
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 03:14 PM   #12
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Is it legal to double lug a fused cut off switch?


#2cu is good for 100a-unless going pretty far


You can downsize your neutral-but i like not doing so -however I do down size my ground-#8cu


as for drilling the panel drill from the outside- wedge a piece of plywood between incoming drill and wires just to make sure you dont nick anything.

no need for crimping -just like smaller work just bigger
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 05:18 PM   #13
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Is it legal to double lug a fused cut off switch?


Cool, think I'm set, I'll bookmark this for when I actually do this project,but it will probably be this summer.

So two #2 blacks, one #2 white and one #8 bare. I'll stick to keeping same size neutral as well, easier that way. And no ground rod at the panel.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1 pole + 3 way switch momof2labs Electrical 1 05-22-2010 10:37 AM
Wiring Double Switch fan/light mjbcable Electrical 5 10-18-2009 06:56 PM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 01:11 AM
double switch problem jim70 Electrical 5 05-02-2008 07:55 AM
Light switch from a double socket ? Terry Collier Electrical 5 04-26-2008 10:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.