Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-26-2007, 12:36 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,250
Share |
Question

leading a 3- out of a 2-wire cable


this is what i did - it works but was wondering if there are safety issues:

i lead a 3- out of a 2-wire cable in a junction box to supply power to a circuit end consisting of two recess lightes and an outlet.

i simply connected both the black and the red wire to the black feeder wire ? is this an okay practice or is it a safety hazard ?

thanks,

- a

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 01:35 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 330
Default

leading a 3- out of a 2-wire cable


What did you connect the black and red wires to on the other end?....what is the white connected to on both ends?

send_it_all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 06:43 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Default

leading a 3- out of a 2-wire cable


If you have multiple appliances to supply at the end of your run, you should just use 2-wire throughout, and pigtail all the hot terminals on the lights/receptacles to the black wire. No need to have seperate red and black conductors going to these boxes.
NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 08:26 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

leading a 3- out of a 2-wire cable


sounds like you are saying that you have a two wire feeder, and you are using a three wire cable to feed switched lights, and unswitched recepticles.

If I am correct, you did it the right way.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 04:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,250
Exclamation

leading a 3- out of a 2-wire cable


thanks everyone !

the white is connected to white on the feeding end.

on the feeding end, both red and black are connected to the black feeder. that was the basis of my concern.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 05:43 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

leading a 3- out of a 2-wire cable


What you did is ok as far as safety, but was pointless as far as practicality. Why not just cap off the red and save it as a spare. Now you have another hot wire to worry about.

What is on the branch circuit you tapped off from? This is an important question.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 07:31 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,250
Default

leading a 3- out of a 2-wire cable


the reason i used 14/3 was because the circuit further on consisted of two recess lights and an outlet, which always needed to be hot. each recess light has its own switch.

i do not know what is on the circuit before because the armored cable is actually coming from upstairs but it is very old (no grounding wire and cloth insulated ). i may just cap it off and replace the source (feeder as i used to call it - what should i call it ?) because this old-timer looks too sketchy ...

thanks for all your feedback.

- a
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 07:34 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,461
Default

leading a 3- out of a 2-wire cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
this is what i did - it works but was wondering if there are safety issues:

i lead a 3- out of a 2-wire cable in a junction box to supply power to a circuit end consisting of two recess lightes and an outlet.

i simply connected both the black and the red wire to the black feeder wire ? is this an okay practice or is it a safety hazard ?

thanks,

- a
Try that again.
What was there before? What did you change? What did add? What are you trying to accomplish?
I could not decipher anything about what you are attempting to do from your original post.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 09:18 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

leading a 3- out of a 2-wire cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
the reason i used 14/3 was because the circuit further on consisted of two recess lights and an outlet, which always needed to be hot. each recess light has its own switch.

i do not know what is on the circuit before because the armored cable is actually coming from upstairs but it is very old (no grounding wire and cloth insulated ). i may just cap it off and replace the source (feeder as i used to call it - what should i call it ?) because this old-timer looks too sketchy ...
You say you connected both red and black to the black feed coming in. This could have been accomplished with one wire. I understand your wanting to have a switched light and constant receptacle but that does not seem to be the way you wired it.


REGARDLESS of all this, you do need to run a circuit or find a newer grounded feed for this. Unless you can confirm that the old wire is AC cable with the thin bonding strip, which I can almost guarantee it is not, you CANNOT use it for a source. This is an ungrounded circuit and we cannot extend ungrounded circuits for new loads.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM
installing a single pole switch yummy mummy Electrical 18 04-27-2007 07:06 PM
I really need help! POOK Electrical 34 04-20-2007 07:01 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.