LCD TV Tripping GFCI Breakers Throughout House - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2009, 09:57 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

LCD TV tripping GFCI breakers throughout house


***UPDATE***

OK, so the problem seems to have been with just that one television. We finally brought over the other LCD we have, which is bigger and draws double the amperage, and it worked fine on all outlets. I guess maybe there's a short in that television.

After the bigger TV worked, a bulb went off in my head...I wondered if maybe the metal brackets for the wall mount that were still attatched to the "problem" TV was causing a short. I took the mounting brackets off, but it was still causing the breaker to trip.

That TV is going either in the garage or on the porch, as we are getting a projector in the living room and the 42" will be a Bedroom TV.

Advertisement

penleydr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:08 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

LCD TV tripping GFCI breakers throughout house


Is the TV under warranty?
What is the Mfg? (size 32")
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:59 AM   #18
General Contractor
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Stafford, VA
Posts: 534
Rewards Points: 500
Default

LCD TV tripping GFCI breakers throughout house


Just a side note the bathroom receptacle should not be on the same line as the bedroom receptacles (IRC 3603.4). Guess they missed that during inspection huh? If they are on the same line the GFCI and ACFI may be causing each other to trip (same as running two GFCI's on same circuit). I'm not sure if thats correct but I will run it by my electrical sub when I get back from my vacation.
ARI001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 12:00 PM   #19
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

LCD TV tripping GFCI breakers throughout house


Quote:
Originally Posted by penleydr View Post
***UPDATE***......
Pen, Thanks for the update. You are being very considerate.
There are so many times where on this forum, someone new comes on line with a problem, gets input from the forum, then SILENCE.

We never get to hear the ending.

Welcome to the forum
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery

Last edited by PaliBob; 06-30-2009 at 12:02 PM.
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 12:49 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

LCD TV tripping GFCI breakers throughout house


Quote:
Originally Posted by ARI001 View Post
Just a side note the bathroom receptacle should not be on the same line as the bedroom receptacles (IRC 3603.4). Guess they missed that during inspection huh? If they are on the same line the GFCI and ACFI may be causing each other to trip (same as running two GFCI's on same circuit).
2 GFCI's on the same circuit are installed all the time & will not cuase each other to trip. 2 GFCI's 2nd one installed off the LOAD of the 1st will not cause false trips. It is done all the time - usually by people who do not know they can just protect a normal downstream outlet off the 1st GFCI
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 02:19 PM   #21
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Default

LCD TV tripping GFCI breakers throughout house


Quote:
Originally Posted by PaliBob View Post
Pen, Thanks for the update. You are being very considerate.
There are so many times where on this forum, someone new comes on line with a problem, gets input from the forum, then SILENCE.

We never get to hear the ending.

Welcome to the forum
So True. Thanks for the update.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 02:37 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

LCD TV tripping GFCI breakers throughout house


Does the TV have a 3 prong plug? Just for kicks, plug the TV into a 3 to 2 prong adapter and plug the adapter in a receptacle without grounding the extra lug. See if it works better.

Maybe the TV indeed "has a ground fault" namely the ground wire is returning current (it should not).
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 07:00 PM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

LCD TV tripping GFCI breakers throughout house


Another thing to try is use an AFC UPS box, and see if it still trips.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 03:14 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

LCD TV tripping GFCI breakers throughout house


FINALLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

After a couple of months of just not having a TV in the master BR, I again encountered this problem. This time, however, I was attempting to plug in the TV to a non-AFCI outlet. Guess what though?? It tripped a breaker alright, just not the one it was plugged in to. Here's the explanation, or at least a plausible theory as to why.

Basically I've got a central entertainment center in my living room where I have two satellite cable boxes, receiver, blu ray, etc...even though it's in the LR, it's on a breaker whose other switches are in the bedroom (AFCI) on the other side of that wall, and is labeled "BR 3" in the breaker box. In the walls running away from the entertainment center (remember, this is on an afci bedroom breaker even thoug it's in the LR) are speaker wires and CAT6 cables that go between HDMI/CAT6 converting wall plates throughout the house to distribute just the video signal to locations throughout the house.

So I've got this TV in the LR that is plugged into a non-AFCI 15amp breaker circuit. However, the HDMI video cable of this TV goes to a non powered wall plate, which goes through the ceiling and walls to a video switch at the entertainment center (remember, this is on AFCI bedroom breaker even though it's in the living room)

I put the "problem" TV, a 32" Olevia LCD out onthe back porch after double-checking to make sure it wasn't somehow wired to a bedroom circuit. The instant I turned that TV on, it blew the AFCI circuit that my entertainment center was on. WHAT?????????? Yup, that's what happened...twice actually before I figured out what was happeneing AGAIN!!!

The ONLY thing I can figure is that because both TVs were on the living room (non-AFCI) circuit, and the "non problem" TV's video cable was plugged into a device that was on an AFCI circuit, that somehow a nuisance trip was caused by turning on the 32" Olevia.

As a last resort before probably just giving the TV away, I went to Lowe's and picked up a GE 15AMP AFCI breaker and swapped it for one of the Seimens AFCI breakers that all the bedroooms are on, and guess what...no more nuisance trips!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I guess there's a bad batch of Siemens AFCI 15amp breakers, or they just make them such that they're more sensetive to the specific circuitry of this television that I've never had a problem with in the past. I just wish I didn't have to spend the 100 bucks to replace all three. I might not actually, since I can only put that TV in one place, I guess I only need one replacement breaker...???
penleydr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 04:09 PM   #25
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

LCD TV tripping GFCI breakers throughout house


You, my friend, have just stumbled on what many of us professional electricians have known for some time: Those AFCI breakers are a bunch of junk, and are subject to a lot of nuisance trips, failures, etc.

The first things I do when attempting to troubleshoot an AFI protected circuit is to either replace the breaker outright, or disconnect the wires from the offending breaker and watch it trip with no wires connected to the output terminals at all!
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 07:48 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

LCD TV tripping GFCI breakers throughout house


Hey there, Just a quick question. I have a brand new house that we have been in for 2 days. I built the house myself including doing the electrical. I passed all my inspections no problem, and have an arc fault question. First of all I wanted to test the arc faults before the inspector did so I plugged in a skill saw and couldn't get the arc fault to pop. Now that the house is complete I hooked up a LCD tv in my bedroom and it popped the AFCI. So this is my question, is it the goal of AFCIs to get rid of tv for kids but allow them to have access to skill saws??? Why would this be the case. I know the answer is to switch to a regular breaker, but should this not be addressed on a bigger level? I am not scared to have a regular breaker in a bedroom after this experience, I lived in a house that had its electrical done in 1940 and that didnt scare me, so this wont either. I think AFCIs are a joke, what is the point if you can have saw in your room but not a TV???? Someone with a good answer for me please let meek know!!!
gkossowan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 08:14 PM   #27
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

LCD TV tripping GFCI breakers throughout house


Quote:
Originally Posted by gkossowan
Hey there, Just a quick question. I have a brand new house that we have been in for 2 days. I built the house myself including doing the electrical. I passed all my inspections no problem, and have an arc fault question. First of all I wanted to test the arc faults before the inspector did so I plugged in a skill saw and couldn't get the arc fault to pop. Now that the house is complete I hooked up a LCD tv in my bedroom and it popped the AFCI. So this is my question, is it the goal of AFCIs to get rid of tv for kids but allow them to have access to skill saws??? Why would this be the case. I know the answer is to switch to a regular breaker, but should this not be addressed on a bigger level? I am not scared to have a regular breaker in a bedroom after this experience, I lived in a house that had its electrical done in 1940 and that didnt scare me, so this wont either. I think AFCIs are a joke, what is the point if you can have saw in your room but not a TV???? Someone with a good answer for me please let meek know!!!
You should start a new thread. It will make things easier.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 06:00 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,719
Rewards Points: 2,398
Default

LCD TV tripping GFCI breakers throughout house


Some appliances with switch mode power supplies,
Do cause some earth leakage.
And this can cause tripping of gfci's.
To test this theory plug the tv into a non grounded outlet
with nothing else connectted to it,
If it works and doesnt trip any thing,
then the point is confirmed.

Do not continue to use it ungrounded.
Just get rid of it.
But at least you will know the reason why.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 07:39 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

LCD TV tripping GFCI breakers throughout house


Bah. This subject frustrates me. AFCI's save lives. No breaker can completely protect a home against an electrical fire but AFCI's do an excellent job reducing the risk. A standard breaker protects equipment and wiring. GFCI's and AFCI's are designed to protect YOU, the homeowner. I won't argue the fact that both can be an annoying pain in the booty to troubleshoot.

The fact is I could completely eliminate my breaker panel and cram all the circuits in my house under the main lugs and the chances are I would never have a problem. I could also never wear my seatbelt in Atlanta traffic and never get in a wreck that would require the seatbelt to prevent me from going headfirst thru the windshield, killing me instantly.

The international Association of Electrical Inspectors reports an average of 53,000 home electrical fires inthe USA per year resulting in 500 deaths. AFCI's would prevent most, but certainly not all of these fires much in the same way seatbelts prevent most, but definitely not all deaths in wrecks.

Its all fun, games and conjecture until somebody gets killed.

Advertisement

AndyinAtl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 09:14 PM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 05:45 AM
Trane XR12 1.5 ton-Too small for my house? Badfish740 HVAC 7 09-23-2009 06:48 AM
GFCI Breaker & GFCI Outlet together??? abinpa General DIY Discussions 6 04-12-2009 09:59 PM
Patio roof to house attachment question mikemobile Building & Construction 1 09-30-2008 08:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts