Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2010, 01:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Laying attic floor: what should I do about exposed wiring?


I want to lay subfloor in my attic and wonder what to do with the exposed wiring that will be in storage areas.

Details:
We have an attic that we use for storage. We have a hip roof, and there is an area in the center with good headroom and a floor, surrounded on all sides by low headroom areas with no floor and exposed cellulose insulation. I want to extend the floor into the low headroom areas to increase storage and seal in the cellose (it's causing dust problems downstairs, we access the attic several times a week to retrieve stored items).

Our wiring was run in the low headroom areas, romex and junction boxes run on top of the joists. What should I do about the wiring? Should I pull the wire staples and junction boxes and slide the OSB under the romex and leave it exposed? Should disconnect wires at the junction boxes, drill holes in joists and pull wires back through and reconnect? Should I install firring and put OSB over the wiring, and cut holes for junction boxes?

Note that the ultimate goal is to finish the central area of the attic and the low headroom area will be accessible storage.

scool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 08:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,590
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Laying attic floor: what should I do about exposed wiring?


I'd be inclined to tack down 1x2 furring strips on top of the joists leaving gaps for the wiring. It's a lots easier than any other alternative.

jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 08:36 AM   #3
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,270
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Laying attic floor: what should I do about exposed wiring?


Local building codes/NEC will dictate this in your area, but: I bore a hole just below the top of the ceiling joist, then cut out the top area of the hole with a wood chisel. This allows the wiring to be placed into this new U-shaped "groove". Do remember to nail a protective plate over this area after the wire is in place to prevent a nail from entering the wire. David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 10:38 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Laying attic floor: what should I do about exposed wiring?


I like the idea to raise the sub floor. Its cheap and you do not have to touch the cables. Great suggestion jogr!
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 10:39 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Laying attic floor: what should I do about exposed wiring?


Thanks for the suggestions! I'm inclined to do the firring. Notching the joists is a great idea, but I've only got 1x6 joists and there is a big span below where most of the wires happen to be so I want to keep all the strength I've got.

I guess I'll cut a hole for each junction box and either add a box extender or just fill gaps with expanding foam. Any tips on how to easily place those holes in right spot on the subfloor panel? Thanks again!
scool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 02:48 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Laying attic floor: what should I do about exposed wiring?


Good call! You cannot notch in the middle 1/3 of the joist anyway.http://www.cciccweb.org/files/Framing.pdf
I would just rip some plywood (not OSB) into 12" pieces to lay for storage. Space them 3/4" apart on the long side to let the rising air/moisture through rather than condensing on the bottom of the material. One on each side of the wiring instead of furring. 5-1/2" of cellulose is minimal, where are you located?

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 11:23 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Laying attic floor: what should I do about exposed wiring?


I'm in western Washington State. I'm reluctant to not completely encapsulate the cellulose because of the dust issues we are having in the house and because the ultimate plan is to make the attic a finished space. But your concern about moisture troubles me a bit. I'd like to know more about how much of a barrier subfloor material might be. Note that while our area does get a lot of rain, it's mostly in the colder months when the home is heated, so we do not have the humidity issues that much of the US has.

As for R-value, I think I can get by with 6.5 inches of cellulose insulation - that's about what we have now and our gas bills are very reasonable. Eventually the plan is to finish the attic, which will require a new roof, skylights, and insulation in the rafters. I plan to re-roof next summer.

scool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raccoons in the attic electricpete Pest Control 17 05-12-2011 04:02 AM
Can I mount a window A/C into the wall, exhausting to the attic? Greg2230 HVAC 2 06-01-2010 08:56 PM
Attic Ventilation Question handy man88 Roofing/Siding 10 02-12-2010 10:50 PM
Frost in the Attic 295yards General DIY Discussions 13 12-07-2009 04:27 PM
moving wiring runs in attic DoubleD07 Electrical 1 07-23-2007 06:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.