Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2012, 07:25 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,951
Rewards Points: 16
Share |
Default

Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch


You would not need that many wire nuts in the breaker panel.

For each critical circuit, a pair of wires comes from the transfer switch unit into the panel, one attached directly to the panel breaker for that circuit and the other wire nutted to the circuit conductor that was just taken off of that breaker. If the wires from the transfer switch unit are not long enough then go ahead and mount a junction box just outside the panel to splice on extensions, or, you could replace the wires coming out of the transfer switch unit with new longer wires.

If you take some of the branch circuit cables out of the panel and attach them to the junction box then individual neutrals must continue on into the panel. One ground wire, sized for the largest branch circuit moved to the junction box, connects the new ground bus in the junction box to the ground bus in the panel.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
DanS26 (11-19-2012)
Old 11-18-2012, 07:38 AM   #17
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,841
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by tylernt View Post
Once I learned what an interlock was and what it did, I can't imagine why anyone would bother with a piddly little transfer switch.

Especially for a 10kW permanent generator!
Standby automatic generators, like the OP has, REQUIRE piddly little transfer switches.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:59 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch


Thanks everyone for your advice, especially AllanJ for his advice on the grounding.

Dan
DanS26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:31 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch


Just wanted to update this thread with the progress on the Junction Box project. I obtained a 8x8x4 Carlon junction box and mounted 22 pass through blocks rated for 30 amps each at 600V. Also mounted a ground bar as required. As you can see I numbered the circuits. Only 1 and 3 are 30 amp, the rest are either 15 or 20 amp.

I mounted the box, which now is ready to make the transition of the critical circuits from the main distribution panel. 11 circuits will be transferred.

Thanks for everyone for your helpful comments.
Attached Thumbnails
Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch-cimg0876.jpg  
DanS26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:37 PM   #20
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 551
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch


Is combustible material like wood allowed in a JB?
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:40 PM   #21
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch


Each one of those metal romex connectors need a bond/ground bushing.

Edit: The ground going to the panel needs to be a #10 minimum.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 12-30-2012 at 08:42 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:21 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Each one of those metal romex connectors need a bond/ground bushing.

Edit: The ground going to the panel needs to be a #10 minimum.
If the metal romex connectors are removed then the circuits need to be stapled or secured at least eight inches from the box. Correct? No other strain relief is needed.

The ground is #10.
DanS26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:27 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by tylernt View Post
Is combustible material like wood allowed in a JB?

I'm willing to remove the wood, but give me a code reference.

Thanks.
DanS26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:27 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375
I think its a shame you have a 10 kw generator and are only getting 12 circuits out of it...
My house has 2 - 240V circuits which feed a heater rated at 15kw total...the only heat source. Seems to me that 12 circuits from 10kw is doing pretty good.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:33 PM   #25
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch


How far is that 8X8 box to the transfer switch or breaker box ?

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:35 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
How far is that 8X8 box to the transfer switch or breaker box ?

Merci,
Marc

Less than four feet, but far enough that I cannot wire the transfer switch directly without a junction box.

Last edited by DanS26; 12-30-2012 at 09:37 PM.
DanS26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:37 PM   #27
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by DanS26 View Post
If the metal romex connectors are removed then the circuits need to be stapled or secured at least eight inches from the box. Correct? No other strain relief is needed.
Incorrect. That is for plastic device boxes. They do make plastic snap in romex connectors.

As for the wood mounting, I think that would fail as well. There is no specific code, but I'd be willing to bet the approved method to mount the terminal blocks are on a metal rail that would mounted to the box with screws. Maybe they make a plastic rail for this application so you don't have to bond the mounting rail.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:39 PM   #28
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by DanS26 View Post
Less than four feet.
Quatre pieds? ( Four feet ? )

Are you aware with conductor derating ?

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:39 PM   #29
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by DanS26 View Post
Less than four feet.
If it is more than two feet, you haven't derated the wires. Those #12's are now rated at 10A (assuming 20 conductors in the raceway).
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:46 PM   #30
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Large Junction Box Before Transfer Switch


Here the NEC verison of derating listing.,



This will give you a straight answer on that.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
k_buz (12-30-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator Manual Transfer Switch BJohnston Electrical 1 11-06-2012 03:33 PM
Bypassing transfer switch in RV to backfeed panel chadmw7 Electrical 5 07-28-2012 03:06 PM
Installing a Reliance 31406CRK transfer switch LeeB18509 Electrical 2 03-17-2012 01:22 PM
Generator Transfer Switch Trouble wgramer Electrical 23 11-12-2011 07:23 PM
Custom wiring a generator to a transfer switch robojoe_fl Electrical 4 06-08-2011 12:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.