Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-14-2008, 06:52 AM   #1
Florida Cracker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 52
Share |
Default

Knockout Plug and Breaker Question


Two questions about an investment property I am working on.
1. I just removed a double pole breaker from my panel- do I need something to cover the holes in the panel cover where the breaker was to be up to code?
2. I discovered that the 220 volt hot water heater is wired using two single pole 20 amp breakers that are next to each other (vertically) in the panel.
Is this up to code?
Thanks.

Jack A. Trades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 06:57 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Knockout Plug and Breaker Question


What size was the 2 pole breaker you removed? If it was a double 20 then use that to feed the water heater and leave the 2 singles as "spares". You need a double pole for the heater, and if you do remove a breaker(s) you will need a filler plate for that space. Is the wire feeding the water heater 10 or 12?

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 07:08 AM   #3
Florida Cracker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 52
Default

Knockout Plug and Breaker Question


Looks like 10 wire- its weird though because it is two red wires and a green coated wire. I think the original owner or his buddy wired the heater.
The breaker I took out was too large to be used for the water heater.
I found this out because I needed to remount the h/w disconnect, went to the breaker box and couldn't find a double pole breaker for the h/w heater, so I opened the panel and figured out that someone had half-assed teh install.
Jack A. Trades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 07:13 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Knockout Plug and Breaker Question


If it's #10 then get a double pole 30 and put it in the space that you removed the breaker and leave the 2 20's for spares.

Last edited by wirenut1110; 06-14-2008 at 07:13 AM. Reason: spelling
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 09:42 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,694
Default

Knockout Plug and Breaker Question


And use one of the spare breakers to fill the space in the panel.
Works better than a filler strip.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a compressor scrapin Electrical 25 03-18-2012 11:35 PM
GFI Plug Troubleshooting bryanchr Electrical 4 08-22-2008 05:28 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
Portable breaker panel? minameismud Electrical 15 02-24-2008 12:57 PM
replaced furnace blower now breaker issue Kurr HVAC 5 01-25-2007 09:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.