Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2012, 04:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Knockout On Main Breaker Panel


I am installing a new 200amp main breaker box, the old box has knockouts with up to 7 wires coming in through one knockout (with a connector). On the new box what is the max amount of wires that can come through a single knockout?

Thanks

rekish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 05:05 PM   #2
Member
 
wareagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Nashville
Posts: 70
Default

Knockout On Main Breaker Panel


You can not push conductors thru a knock out with out protecting the conductors. You will need some type of connector. The connector will determine how many conductors you can install. It will have the number such as 2 #12 and 2 #10 ect
Cable Connector



Last edited by wareagle; 06-24-2012 at 05:35 PM.
wareagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Knockout On Main Breaker Panel


Can I use the Halex Plastic Hit-Lock Connectors, they are UL Listed.
Attached Images
 
rekish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:47 PM   #4
Member
 
wareagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Nashville
Posts: 70
Default

Knockout On Main Breaker Panel


Does your installation meet the requirements as shown here?

http://electrical.hardwarestore.com/...rs-618024.aspx
wareagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 08:05 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,411
Default

Knockout On Main Breaker Panel


Unless you have a surface mounted panel and several other conditions, you will need to use multiple knockouts for the cables. Check the cable size combinations on the package for the connectors to see how many cables are allowed in each connector.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 08:28 AM
Remove Main Breaker from Subpanel fblankinship Electrical 5 10-28-2010 07:11 PM
Sub-panel selewis Electrical 23 02-21-2010 10:52 PM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 08:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.