Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2011, 11:16 AM   #1
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,683
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Share |
Default

Kitchen Wiring questions


Getting ready to start gutting the kitchen after the holidays and start remodeling it.

I'm going to be running all new wiring for the kitchen. I'm going to eliminate the baseboard heater in the kitchen (W T F ? ) and that will give me 2 extra circuits to work with.
What kind of things do i need to be aware of in terms of code requirements? I live in California.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:31 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,475
Default

Kitchen Wiring questions


At least 2 20 amp circuits for the kitchen.
Gfci protection.
No lighting on the 2 circuits.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:45 AM   #3
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,683
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Kitchen Wiring questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
At least 2 20 amp circuits for the kitchen.
Gfci protection.
No lighting on the 2 circuits.
Can the dishwasher and/or Refrigerator be plugged in to one or both circuits?

Does the range hood count as lighting?
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:46 AM   #4
Boston Fan, get over it
 
Toofarfromfenwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Space Coast Florida
Posts: 32
Default

Kitchen Wiring questions


You should, if you can, dedicate a circuit for the refer. DW and disposal can be on one circuit, along with some GFI's. Well, 2 anyway.
Toofarfromfenwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:54 AM   #5
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,683
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Kitchen Wiring questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toofarfromfenwa View Post
You should, if you can, dedicate a circuit for the refer. DW and disposal can be on one circuit, along with some GFI's. Well, 2 anyway.
I actually have a 240 breaker for a hot tub hookup that I am going to get rid of since there is no hot tub, so that gives me room for 2 more circuits, plus the living room has monitor heater, fireplace, and baseboards, so the baseboards are going to go in that room as well. so now i have 6 additional circuits I can use. baseboard in every room of this house, it's kind of insane.

Is there any specific way they would like the 2 circuits arranged? Half of the plugs on one circuit, and half of them on the other? I'm going to have an island in the kitchen that could possibly have no backsplash. Is there any requirement about plug location in a kitchen?
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:55 AM   #6
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,683
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Kitchen Wiring questions


Also wondering what is the best way to do under cabinet lighting.
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 12:00 PM   #7
Boston Fan, get over it
 
Toofarfromfenwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Space Coast Florida
Posts: 32
Default

Kitchen Wiring questions


Hey Alan,

Can you take some pictures or draw a simple diagram? It makes things easier to understand.

Cheers!
Toofarfromfenwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 12:06 PM   #8
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,683
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Kitchen Wiring questions


I actually have a little blueprint drawn up, but I don't have a scanner.

I'll try to throw something real basic on MS Paint.
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 12:21 PM   #9
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,683
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Kitchen Wiring questions


Here we go, hopefully this is what you wanted.

Thanks.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 12:58 PM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,915
Default

Kitchen Wiring questions


Figure it this way: A MWBC for the counters (covers your two circuits), a circuit for the stove if electric or dual-fuel, circuit for the d/w, 1 for the refer, one maybe two for lighting, depending on how much you are going to light it up, and one circuit for baseboard outlets, which can also serve the eating area if attached to the kitchen. Also left out, one for the microwave, whether it is a counter or not.

Depending on how many circuits are already there, and how many to add, you may have to pull a sub-panel, if out of space in your current panel.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 01:03 PM   #11
Boston Fan, get over it
 
Toofarfromfenwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Space Coast Florida
Posts: 32
Default

Kitchen Wiring questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan View Post
Here we go, hopefully this is what you wanted.

Thanks.
Ok, Here's where'd I would put what.

I would put a 12/2 dedicated circuit for the hood, refer, and then a circuit for the DW/Disposal. Off the circuit with the DW/Disp. you can put a GFI outlet, with another recept. on the load side. This will give you your GFI protection for the kitchen coutertop area.

An outlet must be placed every 4' of continuous counter space. The height of the outlets cannot exceed 18". This is to prevent you from trying to run an extension cord to some place.

Depending on the size of your island, you might need recept. in the island. They can be installed on the island, or mounted flush into the countertop with something like this.

http://www.aplussupply.com/lew-floor-boxes/pufp.htm

They make some others. Like this one. Not sure who makes it though.



UC lighting can be on the same circuit as your ceiling lighting, if they have room for expansion. Or, maybe on another circuit.

What I would do, is if you have an outlet existing above the cabinets, put in low voltage puck lights, or something of the sort. Or, if you decide to use line voltage, stub out a wire from a switch in the bottom part of the cabinet. (not where you store your dishes. )
Toofarfromfenwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 01:06 PM   #12
Boston Fan, get over it
 
Toofarfromfenwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Space Coast Florida
Posts: 32
Default

Kitchen Wiring questions


Outlets can be placed on the sides of the island, however, not more than 12" lower than the top of your counter.
Toofarfromfenwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 01:20 PM   #13
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,683
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Kitchen Wiring questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Figure it this way: A MWBC for the counters (covers your two circuits), a circuit for the stove if electric or dual-fuel, circuit for the d/w, 1 for the refer, one maybe two for lighting, depending on how much you are going to light it up, and one circuit for baseboard outlets, which can also serve the eating area if attached to the kitchen. Also left out, one for the microwave, whether it is a counter or not.

Depending on how many circuits are already there, and how many to add, you may have to pull a sub-panel, if out of space in your current panel.
I'll be honest here : I have no idea what a MWBC is.

I guess i should have clarified a bit more on the drawing :

Cooktop is gas, only need an outlet inside cabinet for the spark igniter (i'm assuming this can be wired into the other outlets?

Wall oven is an oven/micro combo, takes a 220 circuit which already exists in the kitchen.

Forgot about this one though : Existing cooktop is a 220 circuit, and since i'm changing over to gas, this gives me 2 more circuits to play with.

Hooray for kitchen remodels.
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 01:23 PM   #14
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,683
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Kitchen Wiring questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toofarfromfenwa View Post
Ok, Here's where'd I would put what.

I would put a 12/2 dedicated circuit for the hood, refer, and then a circuit for the DW/Disposal. Off the circuit with the DW/Disp. you can put a GFI outlet, with another recept. on the load side. This will give you your GFI protection for the kitchen coutertop area.

An outlet must be placed every 4' of continuous counter space. The height of the outlets cannot exceed 18". This is to prevent you from trying to run an extension cord to some place.

Depending on the size of your island, you might need recept. in the island. They can be installed on the island, or mounted flush into the countertop with something like this.

http://www.aplussupply.com/lew-floor-boxes/pufp.htm

They make some others. Like this one. Not sure who makes it though.



UC lighting can be on the same circuit as your ceiling lighting, if they have room for expansion. Or, maybe on another circuit.

What I would do, is if you have an outlet existing above the cabinets, put in low voltage puck lights, or something of the sort. Or, if you decide to use line voltage, stub out a wire from a switch in the bottom part of the cabinet. (not where you store your dishes. )
So are you saying, my 2 required 20A circuits would consist of : circuit 1 refr and range hood, and then circuit 2 would supply the rest of the plugs and the d/w?

Thanks a lot, this is very helpful
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 02:02 PM   #15
Boston Fan, get over it
 
Toofarfromfenwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Space Coast Florida
Posts: 32
Default

Kitchen Wiring questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan View Post
So are you saying, my 2 required 20A circuits would consist of : circuit 1 refr and range hood, and then circuit 2 would supply the rest of the plugs and the d/w?

Thanks a lot, this is very helpful
If you CAN put the refer and hood each on it's own circuit, it would help. Then put the DW/disp on one with your outlets.

But, if you are limited in space in your panel, you could put the refer and hood on one.

You're welcome.



*I do have to say that since I am not a licensed electrician, you should always double check with a qualified electrician.
Toofarfromfenwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions regarding wiring 220 to attached garage... John Green Electrical 0 01-20-2011 09:23 AM
Old wiring in kitchen donnek Electrical 8 11-16-2010 01:47 PM
Kitchen Sink Moved - new kitchen sleepysmurf Plumbing 1 08-10-2010 06:38 AM
Hanging chain light in the kitchen; I'm need wiring advice. fcwedd Electrical 2 05-04-2010 08:50 PM
kitchen questions mivon Electrical 3 04-15-2008 07:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.