Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2010, 08:10 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 122
Share |
Default

Kitchen Question


i was wondering. for a kitchen what is the code for fridge, garbage disposal, dishwasher, mircowave?

I know that i need outlets every 2 ft in the counter area (first one gfci, 20amp)

But what about for the other appliances? i know fridge should be a 20a. Can i group the the dishwasher and garbage disposal on 1 circuit (20a)? i know microwave should also have a dedicated 20a also.

baum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 08:15 AM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Kitchen Question


You need 2 dedicated circuits w/ 20-Amp GFCI's for your kitchen counter.

I do believe the Dishwasher and disposal can be together.

Check out this thread:
Number of circuits needed for a small kitchen? All responses welcome!

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 08:45 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Kitchen Question


Kitchen is very "involved"
(2) 20a GFCI circuits for countertop, no lights (even under cabinte) !!
Fridge can be on one of these, but I ran a dedicated 15a circuit w/#12 wire for my fridge
I will actually have 3 or 4 20a counter top circuits

Dishwasher requires a "dedicated" circuit...many pull 12a, but disposal can be run off this circuit

What kind of Microwave ? Counter top does not need another circuit
But mine pulls 1100w so one reason I am running a 3rd 20a circuit
Many Mfgs require a dedicated circuit (over stove)
If you have a hood that plugs in over the stove they now require a dedicated circuit. Not sure why...smaller fans only pull 3a. This seems to be due to large fan systems for gas stoves & due to combo microwaves/fans
Code seems to indicate a dedicated circuit for over the stove Microwave if it exceeds 50% of the circuit, but wording seems to indicate lights allowed ?
I don't think the code is very clear on this, I've read the different sections multiple times & different people give different views
If it pulls 1200w or more I'd run a seperate circuit for the MW, some pull up to 1800w
Bottom line your local Inspector/code may require a seperate circuit
So you need to verify what your local code requires & what the Mfg requires

My toaster pulls 850w, my small toaster oven pulls ~1500w
Add another device you want to use at the same time & you can see why 3 20a circuits is a good idea

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 08:48 AM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Kitchen Question


For the life of me I could not find that picture, Dave!
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New floor/subfloor in kitchen. Need ideas DanBress Flooring 3 10-20-2008 08:31 PM
Kitchen counter question axlmayhem General DIY Discussions 5 10-20-2008 09:32 AM
Kitchen walkway Design question dustandtools Building & Construction 1 10-14-2008 11:02 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
Installing kitchen wall cabinets higher than spec recommendation? alexz General DIY Discussions 14 07-20-2008 11:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.