Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-19-2006, 08:18 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

kitchen outlet no power


well.....another problem again.... It was suggested that I plug the refrigerator back to the outlet as it was (it gave a small spark when I plugged it in). All outlets in kitchen was on when this was done.

To check it again, I went to turn off the circuit breakers on the panel and now no more power to the kitchen again! Again, I reset circuit breaker, reset GFCI and still no power.

I give up...it is beyond my level of knowledge. There were electrical outlets added to this circuit and that may be the problem (about 6 years ago).

I know there's a short somewhere and it's time for a licensed electrician to correct this.

Everyone, thank you for all your great advise and tips.

apt238 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 08:51 PM   #17
renovations
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 430
Rewards Points: 250
Default

kitchen outlet no power


phew!!!
Bonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 10:23 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

kitchen outlet no power


If the outlet sparked when you plugged in the refrig then the short may be in that outlet.
redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 10:26 AM   #19
They're all fixer-uppers
 
J187's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 991
Rewards Points: 500
Default

kitchen outlet no power


I agree with redline. From the last little bit of info you gave, it sounds like when you plugged the fridge back in, a short tripped the breaker again. Are you sure there are no problems with the wiring inside that box? Did you check for pinched wires or exposed wires? Is the outlet on a split circuit? - there would be three wires coming in, one most likely red...
J187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 06:01 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

kitchen outlet no power


Turn off the one breaker that you think is for the kitchen.
Is the power off on ALL the plugs in the kitchen?
IF most of the plugs are off and you have one or two that still have power then the two with power may be on another circuit. (you indicated that some plugs where added).
If the power is still on all the plugs in then kitchen after you turn off the kitchen breaker then turn off the main breaker at the top of the main panel.
Are the kitchen plugs off now?
If they are off now then you may have a bad breaker for the kitchen that needs to be replaced.

Now with the power off to the kitchen (and the whole house) remove the plug that you said sparked when you plugged in the refrig.
Are there loose wires on this plug?
If so, tighten.
Reinstall the plug, turn the main power back on.
Do you have power to all plugs in the kitchen?
redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 08:38 AM   #21
They're all fixer-uppers
 
J187's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 991
Rewards Points: 500
Default

kitchen outlet no power


Where as the plug is used for a fridge, I'm suspecting its possibly a split circuit receptical and perhaps when he was testing the power he didn't pay particular attention to which side of the receptical he was testing each time - Although he may have thrown the breaker for the top, the bottom still had juice or vice versa...
J187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 05:40 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

kitchen outlet no power


Agree wtih j187.

Could have a split receptical.

Check BOTH sides of the receptical with the tester.
redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 11:20 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

kitchen outlet no power


I found the main house panel and it was not in the garage, but outside in the utility box. This is good to know. I did shut off the power here and all the power did go off in the house.

The problem now is that the power in the kitchen circuit will stay on when I shut off the circuit breaker panel that is in the house. This is very strange that only the kitchen circuit stays on, and the rest of the house power is off.

well....I have an licensed electrician coming this week and hopefully all will be resolved soon .

thank you everyone for your helpful tips. I'll let you know what happens.
apt238 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 08:53 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

kitchen outlet no power


From your info it sounds like the circuit breaker is faulty for the kitchen.

redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 11:20 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

kitchen outlet no power


I have power now! The electrician who has about 30 years experience found this interesting and anxious to get to the bottom of it. At the panel, the circuit that's for the range (220) was attached with a bracket along with 2 (110) which was for the kitchen outlets (it was not labeled as such, bc it was labeled "Utility" "Range") He couldn't understand why it was done this way. I told him it's been like this since I brought the house 21 years ago. So all these years the outlets were wired along with the range and never labeled properly. He disassembled the bracket and now the switch to turn off the kitchen outlets are independent and not a part of the range (220) circuit.

Now I can turn off the correct circuit and it will shut off the right plugs.

I still don't completely understand, but he said that was the cause of it staying on.
apt238 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 02:28 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

kitchen outlet no power


Quote:
Originally Posted by apt238
I had a kitchen outlet that was working, but faulty (top receptacle of outlet didn't always have power). I changed to new receptable, now the entire circuit in kitchen doesn't work. If you can advise of what I can do, I would like to know what happened. I used a plug tester, but nothing lights up.

Did the range work when this problem first started?

It is lucky that you did not get electrified by changing the outlet that was on a different breaker then indicated on the box.

I was going to suggest that before the electrician came to the house that you turn off one breaker at a time and check each outlet to see which outlet corresponds with what breaker.

Sometimes outlets on diffeent floors and different rooms are on a breaker that is not indicate on the simple labels on the panel box.


redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 02:32 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

kitchen outlet no power


Quote:
Originally Posted by apt238
He couldn't understand why it was done this way. I told him it's been like this since I brought the house 21 years ago. So all these years the outlets were wired along with the range and never labeled properly. He disassembled the bracket and now the switch to turn off the kitchen outlets are independent and not a part of the range (220) circuit.

Now I can turn off the correct circuit and it will shut off the right plugs.

I still don't completely understand, but he said that was the cause of it staying on.
The range needs a higher output then just the plugs.
It is the same for an electric dryer. It requires two breakers (usually 30 amps).

The reason that it was wired this way was because someone took a short cut.

You must have had the range on and other appliances on at the same time in order for the breaker to turn off.

Did he put the new breaker on a 15 amp or a 20 amp breaker?
redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 08:37 AM   #28
They're all fixer-uppers
 
J187's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 991
Rewards Points: 500
Default

kitchen outlet no power


A word of advice for the future - take nothing for granted w/ electricity. ESPECIALLY messing around w/ 220v. But even with 110v - hell, I'm even careful around a 16volt doorbell because it builds good habbits. ALWAYS test wires youi are about to work with using a neon tester or some other kind. It takes two seconds and might mean the difference between taking a good 220 across the heart or not... Even when the panel is labled, don't take for granted its right. I had to change a GFCI in my kitchen a week after I bought my house. The panel had a label that actually said GFCI receptacles in kitchen. It was wrong, I tested before changing the receptacle, the correct circuit was one down the panel...

J187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kitchen Island outlet richardremodeler Electrical 8 06-05-2007 06:45 PM
Kitchen outlet breaker simma Electrical 3 02-28-2007 06:50 PM
Kitchen outlet not working apt238 Electrical 10 01-03-2007 05:54 PM
Outlet and light pigtailed to power. ok? skellies Electrical 2 06-24-2006 02:08 PM
Define Split Outlet And Why Needed In Kitchen bobo Electrical 6 10-18-2005 11:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.