Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-14-2010, 12:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Kitchen Lighting


I'm remodelling my kitchen and trying to avoid running a new wire to my panel (my basement has a drywalled ceilling and the panel is at the opposite end of the house). I've moved all the electrical to where it needs to be and will have one extra 14/3 wire left over that used to power a counter top receptacle (attached to 2 15a breakers).

I want to use this connection to power some new recessed lights (after I remove the old hanging ones). Can I simply re-route the 14/3 wire in the kitchen to a new switch and then continue to the lights (keeping in mind the load). Also, should I remove the double 15A breaker and make it a single?

Thanks,

stryker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 12:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Kitchen Lighting


I think you are in Canada ?
I'm not familiar with the codes up there, I do know they can vary by area like here
But someone did post before that split recepatacles were required - not sure if that is still true

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 12:32 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2
Default

Kitchen Lighting


Hey Scuba_Dave,

Yes I'm in Canada eh. It was a split receptacle but no longer as I have removed the receptacle and just want to use the wire so that I don't have to re-run a new one. I'm pretty sure it makes sense to remove one of the 15A breakers so the lights will be treated as any other lighting situation.
stryker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 02:02 PM   #4
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Kitchen Lighting


lights can be on this 15Amp circuit. The double breaker may mean that the 14/3 is a multi-circuit run and needs to be protected this way. (the two circuits are sharing one neutral) If you only use the black and not the red then you can change the breaker. All outlets in the kitchen must be on a 20 amp breaker and you need at least 2 circuits for the counter outlets.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ideas Regarding Kitchen Remodeling Kristal Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 2 12-20-2009 09:44 AM
12 volt kitchen cabinet lighting wire gauge? Help! :/ Lupinglade Electrical 16 09-25-2009 11:55 AM
Outlet & Lighting in kitchen remodel vjbozard Electrical 4 04-08-2009 02:17 PM
lighting on kitchen gfci allowed? frodo Electrical 48 02-14-2008 04:54 PM
lighting guideline's - kitchen remodel dcd22 Electrical 3 08-01-2007 11:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.