Kitchen Island Outlet Wiring Problem - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2011, 11:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

kitchen island outlet wiring problem


I'm upgrading out kitchen island.

The previous owner had created an island by taking a freestanding stove to which he then added a 15" base cabinet to each side and then put a big sheet of particleboard across the back tying the whole thing together. He then used a wall-mount range hood and jury-rigged an island hood by sticking particleboard to the back of it, and venting it right into the attic.

I took out the stove and cabinets, leaving a single conduit sticking out of the concrete floor with an old three-prong 240 hookup.

What I want to do is to build a new island out of base cabinets, 48" deep by 5' wide, with a cooktop. Hardwiring the cooktop to the old three wire seems straightforward, and I'm pretty sure I'm not violating code to do it, but a friend pointed out that there's probably supposed to be some normal electrical outlets.

I did some digging around and it looks like my code says an island needs at least one outlet. I can't run anything through the floor, and dropping down a post from the ceiling would really ruin the look of the kitchen. Are their any alternatives, like a legal way to tap into the appliance circuit? It makes me cringe even suggesting it, but then I stop to think that many standalone stoves have appliance outlets built into them...

Advertisement

colarama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 11:16 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

kitchen island outlet wiring problem


Would it be possible to do a sub-panel inside a cabinet? then split off the appliance and the (GFI'ed) outlets?

Advertisement

colarama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 11:30 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

kitchen island outlet wiring problem


Where does that conduit in the floor go? You might be able to pull in some additional wires to provide power for your counter top outlets ...
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 06:51 AM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

kitchen island outlet wiring problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by colarama View Post
Would it be possible to do a sub-panel inside a cabinet? then split off the appliance and the (GFI'ed) outlets?
To make a 120/240 volt sub panel, you need a 4 wire feed. If the existing wiring is 3 insulated conductors and the conduit is metal, it may be possible.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat wiring Problem TRC Electrical 2 09-23-2010 08:37 AM
Kitchen Sink Moved - new kitchen sleepysmurf Plumbing 1 08-10-2010 07:38 AM
Funky wiring in Kitchen Atreyou40 Electrical 10 08-24-2009 11:05 AM
problem with wiring...celing fan/switch anywhofaq Electrical 8 05-09-2008 05:20 PM
problem with wiring...celing fan/switch anywhofaq General DIY Discussions 1 05-09-2008 03:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts