Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-29-2010, 10:16 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 89
Share |
Default

Kitchen GFCI outlets


I have wired 2 circuits to power kitchen counter outlets. I used 12 guage wire on a 20 amp circuit. Each circuit has a t slot 20 amp GFCI outlet from which i fed another t slot 20 amp non GFCI outlet. When I test them with my outlet tester the GFCI outlets show fine. The tester even has a button to test a GFCI outlet and it trips it as it should. When I test the other outlets on the circuits when I insert the tester it trips the GFCI. It does have power as I can plug in a radio OK. Is this normal? Any ideas as to what might be wrong? Thanks for any and all help.
beech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 10:53 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Default

Kitchen GFCI outlets


Try plugging in the tester into the non GCFI and then reseting the GCFI. Chances are the tester is tripping it before all pins are fully engaged.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 02:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 89
Default

Kitchen GFCI outlets


Thanks. When I plug the tester into the non GFCI it trips the GFCI but when I reset it the tester lights up showing it is wired correctly. Does that mean it is OK. What will the inspector say when he does this and sees the circuit trips? Thanks for your help.
beech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 02:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Default

Kitchen GFCI outlets


Yes the circuit is probably OK. You are most likely getting a spark when plugging in the tester which is causing the GCFI to trip. This is not uncommon.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hayewe farm For This Useful Post:
beech (08-29-2010)
Old 08-29-2010, 03:15 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,042
Default

Kitchen GFCI outlets


Your neutrals and grounds may be too close to each other and touch when you plug in the tester.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
beech (08-29-2010)
Old 08-30-2010, 01:38 AM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Kitchen GFCI outlets


Double check the netural and ground conductors and make sure they are not touching each other at all otherwise it will trip the RCD { GFCI }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
beech (08-30-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kitchen gfci jce Electrical 11 07-28-2010 07:11 AM
GFCI breakers equivalent to GFCI outlets? Any code pitfalls? TomServo Electrical 27 02-04-2010 10:59 PM
Replacing kitch outlets to GFCI jhubert Electrical 7 11-16-2009 07:23 PM
downstream of GFCI outlets amakarevic Electrical 11 12-25-2008 01:13 PM
GFCI switch to control outside outlets billgeo Electrical 14 09-08-2008 11:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.