Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2010, 08:15 PM   #1
jce
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 24
Share |
Default

kitchen gfci


I'm redoing our kitchen & from what I can read, gfci required within 6' of sink & ALSO 2 20amp required for counter ?
Is the 2-20amp for counter required for remodel or just new construction ?

thanks
J

jce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 08:19 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

kitchen gfci


Where are you located ?

US requires (2) 20a counter circuits & GFCI protection

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 08:23 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,755
Default

kitchen gfci


All kitchen countertop receps must be GFCI protected.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 08:25 PM   #4
jce
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 24
Default

kitchen gfci


I am in Pennsylvania , sorry !
If it's a remodel , does "new" code still apply ?
Just curious , if not near water , why the gfci requirement ?
jce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 08:28 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

kitchen gfci


Yes, once you remodel you need to meet current codes
Kitchen counters are considered wet prep/possible wet areas, so all must be GFCI
Not sure of exact wording
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 08:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Exclamation

kitchen gfci


Quote:
Originally Posted by jce View Post
I am in Pennsylvania , sorry !
If it's a remodel , does "new" code still apply ?
Just curious , if not near water , why the gfci requirement ?
"Existing" is OK the way it is (No Brainer?) Once, any alteration is done, --except for replacing the receptacle itself-- it must be brought up to code. Meaning any Year of the NEC your AHJ (Local Code enforcement agency) is up to!

Last edited by spark plug; 04-11-2010 at 08:43 PM. Reason: Added sentence for clarification
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 08:51 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

kitchen gfci


Quote:
Originally Posted by jce View Post
I'm redoing our kitchen & from what I can read, gfci required within 6' of sink & ALSO 2 20amp required for counter ?
Is the 2-20amp for counter required for remodel or just new construction ?

thanks
J
anytime your redoing wiring it falls under the present code standards. If your just replacing a device(plug, switch) then that doesn't count. I'm not qualified to answer this as i'm not familiar enough with the NEC but the number of plugs needed is probably dependant on total work surface....if there's an island....penisula. Some plugs may be exempt from having a GFCI after a certain distance from the sink or for special cases such as the plug is inacessable.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 08:53 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

kitchen gfci


Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Scuba_Dave For This Useful Post:
andrew79 (04-11-2010), spark plug (04-11-2010)
Old 04-11-2010, 09:07 PM   #9
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,882
Default

kitchen gfci


dont forget to use the tamper resistant gfis and plugs if its being inspected
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:11 PM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

kitchen gfci


a question for my own curiosity. Do you have to alternate circuits on the counter top and is there a max your allowed to have on each gfci circuit?
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:28 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

kitchen gfci


I have not read any code (in the US) requiring you to alternate the outlets on a different circuit
It is a good idea, I will alternate circuits/outlets in my kitchen & will have 4 20a circuits for the counter due to it being open to the sunroom

There isn't any Max capacity as far as outlets, but it must be outlets only
DW & disposal can't be on the circuit
Refridge can but I ran a dedicated 15a circuit using 12g wire for my fridge
MW/combo fan/hood require a dedicated circuit
A plug in hood also requires a dedicated circuit
But a MW (over stove) alone apparently does not

Kitchen can be a pain to wire
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 07:11 AM   #12
Member
 
57_Hemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: TORONTO CANADA
Posts: 81
Default

kitchen gfci


***BRAND SPANKING NEW MEMBER HERE***

My apologies for bringing this older thread up but I have a question?....

Im in the process of remodeling an older home wife and I just purchased approx 1 year ago. Built in the mid 1940s (Toronto, Ontario, Canada). I realize kitchen receptacles must now be wired with 12 guage AND gfci protected. My first plug is approx 3.5ft away from our double sink and has a 20amp GFCI receptacle with dedicated 12/2 straight to the electrical panel. However, Im still a bit confused regarding the other 2 counter plugs. They are both on the other side of the counter (approx 4.5ft & 6ft away from sink).

Can I ....#1

Run a 12/2 to one receptacle with a GFCI then branch of the load of the receptacle to the last receptacle ?

OR....#2

Must I have 2 seperate 12/2 dedicated runs (one to each receptacle) and install 2 seperate 20ap GFCI's ?

(Im veering towards option #1, more practical I would think)

It's been a while for me and back then a simple 14/3 looped over to the next plug on a double 15amp (dont forget to cut the bridges...LOL) was acceptable but I realize that thee codes are changing everyday and want to make sure things are done correctly acording to current regulations.

Any help would be awesome..............THANKS

D
TORONTO

"I dont have a problem tackling any job.....I just need the money to start it"......(d.a)


Last edited by 57_Hemi; 07-28-2010 at 07:21 AM. Reason: forgot to add something
57_Hemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about GFCI behind future kitchen sink ChrisDIY Electrical 5 02-18-2010 09:02 AM
Ideas Regarding Kitchen Remodeling Kristal Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 2 12-20-2009 09:44 AM
GFCI plugs in kitchen DeterminedMom Electrical 10 04-23-2009 10:42 PM
lighting on kitchen gfci allowed? frodo Electrical 48 02-14-2008 04:54 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.