Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2010, 07:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed


I would like to wire up 2 kitchen counter receptacles that need to be GFCI protected. Will the following wiring method be up to code?

2 - 20A T slot GFCI receptacles.
2 - separate boxes (about 3' from each other)
12/3 wire feeding 1st receptacle
12/2 wire feeding 2nd receptacle off pigtails with neutral and red wire.
2 - 20 breakers, side by side but not tied together.

zapped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 08:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,951
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed


All okay except:

... The breakers. You need a double wide double breaker (double pole) with the handles tied together.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 08:05 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed


handel ties required.you are aware it needs to be a 240v ckt?
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 08:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,951
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed


Be sure the breaker is positioned in the panel so you measure 240 volts across the two hot terminals.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 09:11 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed


Are you sure the handles have to be tied? I thought that as long as the 2 hot wires are not terminated in the same box you can use separate breakers? Obviously each hot will be on opposite bus bars for a balanced load.
zapped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 09:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed


code says handel ties.210.4(b).

Last edited by oleguy74; 10-22-2010 at 09:24 PM.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 09:45 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed


Ya in USA or Canada ?? there is diffrence on code to deal with it.

Merci,
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 09:59 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed


usa.is this guy in canada?
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 10:02 PM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed


Quote:
Originally Posted by oleguy74 View Post
usa.is this guy in canada?
Hey Oléguy., I will give you a 50/50 split I have a feeling the OP is from Canada due the T-slots recetpale on kitchen circuits which I know not very often used in USA side.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 10:03 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,596
Rewards Points: 128
Default

Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed


You need to post your location. Your rules sound like you might be in Canada. Separate breakers are allowed if you are in Ontario.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (10-22-2010)
Old 10-22-2010, 10:08 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed


Yes, I'm from Ontario, Canada.

After more searching I discovered that the 12/3 feed does NOT have to be on a double pole receptacle or have the handles tied.

The 2 single 20 breakers have to be positioned such that there would be 240V between the red and black. The neutral wire in the first receptacle must have a pigtail to allow removal of the receptacle without interrupting the circuit downstream.

This doesn't apply to split receptacles and if both duplex receptacle were in a gang box you may have an issue.
zapped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 10:13 PM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed


Quote:
Originally Posted by zapped View Post
Yes, I'm from Ontario, Canada.

After more searching I discovered that the 12/3 feed does NOT have to be on a double pole receptacle or have the handles tied.

The 2 single 20 breakers have to be positioned such that there would be 240V between the red and black. The neutral wire in the first receptacle must have a pigtail to allow removal of the receptacle without interrupting the circuit downstream.

This doesn't apply to split receptacles and if both duplex receptacle were in a gang box you may have an issue.
Maybe so but with split receptales IIRC they have to be on 15 amp circuits but Joed will confirm the excat details and make sure you have RCD protection 1 meter from sink but how far out I will let Joed confirm this part due you are in near his area so he will give you a stright answer.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 10:39 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Hey Oléguy., I will give you a 50/50 split I have a feeling the OP is from Canada due the T-slots recetpale on kitchen circuits which I know not very often used in USA side.

Merci.
Marc
t-slots 20 amp recps,is all i use on kit ckts.that goes for the gfci outlets too.some aeras that i work in require them for kit ckts.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 11:05 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed


It's actually not 1m from sink. GFCI receptacles are required for all receptacles within 1.5m (59") of sink, bathtub or washbasin. (Ontario Rules)

They way they keep expanding the GFCI zone, your neighbour will have to protect his plugs from YOUR sink!
zapped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 11:45 PM   #15
Member
 
jlhaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canadian Rockies
Posts: 1,280
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Kitchen GFCI with 12/3 feed


Don't you split the receptacles so that the top and bottom are on different circuits?

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
Go ahead and apply for a variance, those guys at City Hall can use a good laugh.
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI Stumper ksqrdks Electrical 2 04-03-2010 06:24 AM
20 amp GFCI breaker pops when pool pump is turned on. jagrunner Electrical 11 03-19-2010 04:31 PM
GFCI between porch receptacles Thurman Electrical 4 08-19-2009 12:40 PM
GFCI plugs in kitchen DeterminedMom Electrical 10 04-23-2009 10:42 PM
Gfci Circuit howard.wheaton Electrical 10 01-29-2009 05:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.